We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio
Ranked #105 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I like the Amsterdam city. Hotel Wyndham Apollo is in a quiet location not far away from the city. Breakfast was simple with a little choice of items. Reception staff were nice and warm helper. Housekeeping wasn't do their job properly thus the room always not cleaned very well. Anyway as I said before I do like the Amsterdam in Netherlands.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hani-KSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we found ourselves transferred to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel after the hotel we had booked (Ramada Apollo) told us on arrival that they were overbooked. We were assured that the Wyndham was "more luxurious" and that all aspects of our booking would be honoured. Sadly this was not the case.

Positives - we were upgraded to an Executive Room on the top floor with wonderful views of the canals (and local Shell Petrol Station!!);
the hotel is in a leafy, quiet residential area;
staff are friendly if somewhat inefficient;
all areas of the hotel appear clean and tidy.

Negatives - we were booked on a dinner (3 course), bed and breakfast package which seemed to cause confusion for all staff concerned. On the first night we were offered the chef's "special menu" which consisted of a choice of asparagus with bacon or asparagus with lobster as a starter, then fillet of lamb or red mullet as a main, finishing with raspberries and ice cream or cheese & biscuits (except we were "not allowed the cheese" on our menu option. We asked what the menu options would be for the remaining two nights of our stay and were told the menu changed "seasonally"!! On the second night we ate in the bar and were given a 20 euro allocation each - almost enough for one course, the cheapest being a burger with chips and salad at 21 euros. But the burger was undercooked so our 3 course dinner turned out to be half a course. We complained to the Duty Manager and were assured that all would be sorted in time for our third dinner. Alas, this didn't happen. On the our final evening we were told by the waiter that we were "getting a special menu prepared by the chef" - so no choice. And this time it was tomato soup, followed by chicken caesar salad, and no dessert. (Standard dishes which appeared on the Room Service Menu!).

To add to our troubles, after each evening meal, despite having paid in advance for our dinner, the cost appeared on our room bill. So each morning we had the daily ritual of explaining to the receptionist about our plight and having to wait for a manager to adjust our bill accordingly.

Individually the staff were all very courteous and helpful, but somehow the administration, both within the hotel and between the hotel and it's sister hotel, was completely lacking.

The constant hassle we encountered over our dining arrangements was inexcusable and should not have been allowed to extend over three nights.

Oh, and the breakfasts were disappointing too..... :-(. Fine if you were down early, but by 9 am the cheese had curled at the edges, the scrambled eggs had turned to rubber, the bacon was incinerated, and the coffee was lukewarm.

Suffice it so say we will NOT be back and wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing stress-free break.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queenshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've stayed in Amsterdam multiple times and always try to stay in new parts of the city to explore. I really enjoyed this hotel location, in a very pretty and mostly residential part of the city. Only about 15 minute walk from the RAI convention center where I had meetings, and 5 minute walk to tram stop that take you into city center (Dam Square, Central Station, etc...) in about 15 minutes.
The hotel is quite nice. Big rooms and nicely sized bathrooms. Very comfortable bed. Nice sitting area by oversized window overlooking the canals. Nice bar downstairs with indoor and outdoor seating by the canal. I did not eat at the hotel so can't speak to their food. It had a nice fitness center as well, unfortunately did not make use of that either.

Room Tip: Room 240 had a great view and king size bed, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bruno68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were here for 3 nights. The room was nice and clean with free WiFi. We arrived early after a 9 hour flight and was unable to check in early. Airport shuttle cost 17 euros although we were told 15.50 euros in the email. The hotel is outside the city center but the nearest tram is only 10 mins walking distance. The food in the hotel restaurant was average but overpriced. Overall, the hotel was average.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived 3 hours before check to leave our bag before heading into the city centre. We were able to check in immediately & were given a free upgrade to an executive suite. The room was large, clean & bright. The beds were amazing, easily the best nights sleep away from home we've had. Can walk into the city centre from here about 30-40 minutes, plenty of trams if walking is a problem. Lovely bar area although prices are very expensive. Staff nice & helpful, would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is located outside the city centre, but still at (10 minutes) walking distance from public transport. The staff is friendly. The hotel is modern, with spacious roums. The hotel appears to specialise in guests from the far east, but that does not need to bother other guests.

Room Tip: Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaakDeVuyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I arrived with "ventos do norte" in a Tour in Netherlands, and we had the great pleasure to stay a couple of days in Wyndham Apollo Hotel. It was Fantastic! Modern with clean rooms, calm perfect to relax and to enjoy Amsterdam. With a great service with all the things organized. The food was very good, the breakfast, had everything you'd want.
I enjoy a lot, Thanks to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elvis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#28 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,573 reviews
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 374 in Amsterdam
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sir Adam Hotel
#29 of 374 in Amsterdam
310 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $129 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing