We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #108 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were here for 3 nights. The room was nice and clean with free WiFi. We arrived early after a 9 hour flight and was unable to check in early. Airport shuttle cost 17 euros although we were told 15.50 euros in the email. The hotel is outside the city center but the nearest tram is only 10 mins walking distance. The food in the hotel restaurant was average but overpriced. Overall, the hotel was average.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived 3 hours before check to leave our bag before heading into the city centre. We were able to check in immediately & were given a free upgrade to an executive suite. The room was large, clean & bright. The beds were amazing, easily the best nights sleep away from home we've had. Can walk into the city centre from here about 30-40 minutes, plenty of trams if walking is a problem. Lovely bar area although prices are very expensive. Staff nice & helpful, would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is located outside the city centre, but still at (10 minutes) walking distance from public transport. The staff is friendly. The hotel is modern, with spacious roums. The hotel appears to specialise in guests from the far east, but that does not need to bother other guests.

Room Tip: Any room will do.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaakDeVuyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I arrived with "ventos do norte" in a Tour in Netherlands, and we had the great pleasure to stay a couple of days in Wyndham Apollo Hotel. It was Fantastic! Modern with clean rooms, calm perfect to relax and to enjoy Amsterdam. With a great service with all the things organized. The food was very good, the breakfast, had everything you'd want.
I enjoy a lot, Thanks to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elvis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed one night in April as part of a tour booked through Gate 1 Travel. Hotel is modern with clean rooms. Bedroom area is a decent size. Shower/toilet are in separate rooms--both small. When we first checked it we were given a room that overlooked rooftops with big exhaust fans. We asked for a change and were given a room with a beautiful view of the canals and bridge below.

The hotel is about a 5-10 walk to get the 5 tram to take you to downtown Amsterdam sites. Tram ride to there is about 10-15 minutes. From the hotel, it's about a 15-20 minute walk to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum.

Included breakfast was good--had everything you'd want. Front desk and concierge very helpful.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a foom overlooking the canal.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Being on Tour with a group of musicians can be very tiring. Everyday traveling, playing concerts and always running around. Thanks to the Wyndham Apollo in Amsterdam our stay in the Netherlands became so much better. The rooms were clean, style-fully decorated and the matrasses a delight to sleep on, not to mention the breathtaking view from our room. The service felt warm and very natural and the menu prepared for us was a big surprise. Especially the outside terras is perfect to relax with a nice cup of coffee. Thank you so much and for sure I will return in the near future to enjoy the warm, relax and cosy ambient of the Wyndham Apollo.

P.S. As a vegetarian it's not always easy to eat good in a Hotel but the composition of the plate, the structure and taste was simply great.

Room Tip: If you can try to get a room on the top floor. The view is simply breathtaking and it's wonderfu...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Menne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have just come back from 3 night stay. I really enjoyed this hotel. We booked a hidden location deal through lastminute.com and saved £40 over the regular price. Upon check in we were told that we had been upgraded to an Executive room on the 5th floor. If possible try to stay on the upper floors as these rooms appear to be newly renovated.

The hotel is easily accessible by public transport (tram) about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We purchased a 4 day pass for 21 Euros. The car parking at the hotel is very expensive 34 Euros per 24 hours. There is a Shell petrol station next door or a local grocery store (Albert Heijn) about a 5-10 min walk away.

The room itself was very nice. It had been newly renovated with floor to ceiling windows (with a great view of the city and canals), work desk and even a lounge chair with ottoman. The bathroom was small but was very nice including a heated mirror and towel rack. The shower had a strange design as the half glass curtain had no seal at the bottom which meant water leaked all over the floor. The bed itself was rather soft which for me was not great as I did not sleep well. The TV had a ton of English channels too. There also was a minibar and coffee and tea making facilities. The WIFI was free but had some spotty moments.

We did not use the facilities in the hotel but there are restaurants, fitness room and moped/bicycle rentals among others.

The staff were very friendly. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,508 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#36 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,366 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#118 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $148 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing