We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #87 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Wyndham Apollo hotel is situated outside Amsterdam in a quiet area close to the RAI centre where we attended an international event.
When we booked in we were informed we had been given a free upgrade which was lovely. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and included tea and coffee making facility. The staff where pleasant and helpful. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food.
If I return to Amsterdam I would certainly stay in this great value for money hotel .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am happy to hear that the hotel did meet up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall stay. Also I am happy to hear that you found the staff to be very friendly.

I look forward welcoming you again at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    611
    259
    83
    58
See reviews for
158
625
62
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed with my family had a great experiance hotel is very clean it is a 4 star, I dont understand the negative reviews hotel staff was very helpfull and polite especialy a young lady named karin she was very helpfull she answered all my questions and didnot hesitat to help me with anything, will stay here agian when i go back to amsterdam. Location is a not in the center or near the atractions but the staff showed me how to get to all the atractions by nearby tram very helpfull got there every day in 10 - 15 minutes. nice and quiet area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frankasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. Your experience at our hotel is very important to us. Your comments will help us to improve our total service.

Your kind words about the staff and the hotel itself are really appreciated. It is nice to hear the hotel met up all your expectations and that you had a great stay in Amsterdam.

Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam and we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very pretty hotel tucked away from the main center of amsterdam with a gorgeous back patio on the canals. Very peaceful, clean and nice. Not close to the center though so if you want convenience of travel to and fro main parts of amsterdam, then look elsewhere. A great place for a nice, quiet retreat.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Amreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I do hope you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Although our hotel is located right outside the busy part of the city centre, all places of interest are within easy reach by foot or tram (stop location 5 minutes from the hotel). It is therefore unfortunate that we as hotel could not inform you well enough about the great location of the Wyndham Apollo Hotel between the lively city centre and the nice calmed south area of Amsterdam and with all main museums on walking distance.
The hotel also offers a bike and scooter rental to explore the city in your own tempo and on a typical Dutch way.
I look forward welcoming you again at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 night from the 2-6 of Jan and were completely impressed with our room. It was cleaned spotless every day and we also received fresh towels. The bed was so comfy we found it quite hard on two occasions to get out of it.
The bathroom was clean and modern and also had a power shower, very nice after a long days walk.

Its location for us was not an issue as it’s only a 4 minute walk to the tram line where you can get either the number 5 or 24 into the centre of Amsterdam.

There were only a couple of issues with the hotel that I can think of, firstly there were no robes in the rooms, and after a shower I think it’s always nice to have one, not a major issue as we didn’t even ask at the front desk for one, just got under the covers instead.

And the second, the price of food and spa were far too high for us. 22.50 euros for breakfast and 90 euros for a massage were a bit too steep for us, especially when bagels and bean just down the road cost about 17 euro for two.

As I said these weren’t really an issue for us as every day we got up and went straight into town.
Would defiantly recommend this hotel to friends and family and when we go back we'll be re-visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stu201185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I assure you that we will use this information to improve our service.

I do hope you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Although our hotel is located right outside the busy part of the city centre, all places of interest are within easy reach by foot or tram (stop location 5 minutes from the hotel). The hotel also offers a bike and scooter rental to explore the city in your own tempo and on a typical Dutch way.
I am sorry the read that you experienced our extras services as expensive. I will inform my colleagues with your notes.

I enjoyed reading the nice comments about the bed, a good sleep is a good start of the day!

I do hope to welcome you again at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Business hotel, close to RAI Convention and exposition center; try to get a room facing the chanel; the hotel hires bikes ( the best part of my business experience) anf fastest way to get the way to anywhere.

Far from the center but localized in a charming and quiet zone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. Your experience at our hotel is very important to us. Your comments will help us to improve our total service.

I am happy to hear that you had nice stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed the view on the canals.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have literally never met a more unprofessional, rude or downright aggressive manager in my life, the room had a ventilation problem meaning we had a loud whistling noise in our room both nights, internal telephone system didn't work meaning it would have been easier to run down to the kitchen than order room service

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to improve our services.

I am really sorry to hear that there was an error in the ventilation system during your stay in the room. I have informed our Technical Department about the issue and they will make sure that the ventilation error is solved.
I take the comment about the attitude of the staff very serious and I can assure you that this will be discussed internally.

I hope that the city Amsterdam has fulfilled all your wants and needs and that you had a great stay in the heart of the city.

I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and we hope to may welcome you again in the near future at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#40 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#111 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#114 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing