We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good option but be wary of expensive extras....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #88 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good option but be wary of expensive extras....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times and find it a good option, being walking distance to the centre of town (25 mins) and close-ish to the airport (50 euro taxi). The location adjacent to 5 canals is very picturesque - the restaurants and some rooms overlook this.
I would normally give this hotel 4 out of 5 as the rooms are clean and have everything required - however i did feel ripped off by some of the additional charges. Wifi was 50 Euros for 4 days! Luckily I checked before logging on so went for the 1 hour option - in a business hotel not to have access to free WiFi in some part of the hotel is really poor customer service.
Travelling alone I often opt for room service, however at 10 Euro tray charge this made it a very expensive option. I decided to go for the Chefs Choice menu of 35 Euro in the main dining room. Food was excellent if a bit small in portion size! Cheese board was fantastic and had a choice of Dutch cheeses which were well explained.

Breakfast is good - with the added entertainment of the breakfast waiters who have a good rapport going with both staff and customers. These guys actually made my stay!

At the time of writing there were renovations underway - I was shown to a lovely room however the generator noise was like being on an aircraft so I asked to change. This was done with no hassle - however nobody offered to help me with my bags.
The room I was shown to was definately quieter but of a lower standard than my initial room - which was a shame - but I accepted as it was quiet.

There is a spa on site which I didnt use.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms overlooking the canals. If a generator noise bothers you - mention t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlanFam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear sir/madem,

Thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay. It is always good to notice that our services where to your satisfaction and that our staff has contributed to a pleasant stay.

At Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam we offer a Wyndham ByRequest membership programme. This programme allows our guests to make use of free Internet access and other exclusive benefits. You can sign up for Wyndham ByRequest at the reception or via our website.

Unfortunately some charges for certain facilities we cannot evade. However By valued guest as yourself letting us know on which points we can improve. We have taken precautions to be more transparent in certain costs and offering full service packages.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience, and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    606
    254
    83
    58
See reviews for
156
618
60
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Nice hotel among the crossing of 5 rivers, nice view from the cafe!! Relatively close to RAI center, either ultra cheap with taxi, or 15min foot. Mini-market next to the hotel (gas station)

Room Tip: Do not take the basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasMam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Andreas,

First of all we would like to thank you for leaving a comment on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our canal views and the location of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Recently stayed during the ISE show at the RAI, following a fantastic refurbishment the hotel is perfect for anyone visiting the RAI or in fact Amstedam...very nice modern rooms great facilities, good bar good breakfasts,..what more does one need..many thanks Wyndham Apolo...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurpieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you are enthusiastic about the refurbishment and that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on business in December. It's a very comfortable hotel, with lovely beds and pillows, and a nice bar/lounge area that overlooks the water. It has a gym and more or less everything you could need to make your stay comfortable.

The problem is that you have to pay a lot for these things. No free WIFI, in a business-orientated hotel? Really? Come on. The majority of people staying in the hotel are staying for business purposes and making them pay to use WIFI is just ridiculous. I wouldn't even mind if it was cheap, but it certainly isn't. Add to this the cost of breakfast, the cost of a drink, the cost of a movie, the cost of everything. It's a very expensive hotel.

But if you can look beyond the cost, it's a very clean and comfortable hotel. It's a shame because something as simple as free WIFI can be the difference between me recommending this hotel and not.

Room Tip: My colleagues mentioned that the rooms on the upper floors (6th) were considerably colder than mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Mr. Molloy,

First of all we would like to thank you for leaving a comment on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our canal views and facilities.

At Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam we offer a Wyndham ByRequest membership programme. This programme allows our guests to make use of free Internet access and other exclusive benefits. You can sign up for Wyndham ByRequest at the reception or via our website.

Unfortunately some charges for certain facilities we cannot evade. However By valued guest as yourself letting us know on which points we can improve. We have taken precautions to be more transparent in certain costs and offering full service packages.

We would like to apologize for unclear or unforeseen cost, and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I'm a member of CADS (the Commercial Anglo-Dutch Society), which has been meeting at this hotel every month for lunch for more than 10 years. In that time it has changed hands 3 times. As a couple we have stayed there overnight on a few occasions as well. The restaurant La Sirene is one of the best fish restaurants in the city, and the staff are without fail friendly, courteous and professional. The kitchen has a new young chef since last summer, and he is starting to show real potential in the kitchen. The outlook from the bar and terrace over the river is beautiful, and I use it as one of my favourite business lunch places. My only gripe is that the restaurant is closed on Sundays.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leiden_food_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for leaving this positive comment on Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam and restaurant LaSirene. Reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.
We are looking forward welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This hotel has perfect location as it is in a quite area but when you take tram 5 you can in every stop discover the famous attractions. The rooms are nice with canal view. The staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast is great and the restaurant and bar are fantastic. It is very clean and if I. Go again to Amsterdam I will definitely stay in it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with canal view in zero floor or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SamehLabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to remark on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our stay and the canal view.

We look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendsburg
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

I used the hotel for a business trip during EWEA.
The hotel is not far away from RAI.
Double Room used as Single Room.
Prize: Expensive (but exhibition time)
Nice lobby bar

Attention:
The hotel booked more money from credit card.
No contact by email possible - contact adress on invoice false.
No feedback by hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Scout_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Sir/madem,

Thank you for taking the time to remark on your stay. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the credit card charges. If you provide us with your contact details via mt.wyndham@apollohotelsresorts.com we will look into this misunderstanding.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#110 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#113 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing