We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
Ranked #81 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Me and my partner have now stayed at this hotel twice. The last time we visited was about 18 months ago in October 2009. The first time we visited, we had an early morning flight so arrived in Amsterdam at about 9am. We were absolutely shattered and despite knowing that we couldn't check in to the hotel until 3pm, we thought we'd chance it and headed straight there. We caught a taxi at the airport and this will cost you between 40 and 45 euros. It's not bad really as it is about a 20 minute drive from the airport. When we got there, we asked the Receptionist if there was any chance of checking in a bit earlier i.e. maybe about 12ish and we couldn't believe our luck when she said they already had a room sorted for us and could check in straight away, at no extra cost may I add! We didn't have to worry about it this time round though as we opted for an afternoon flight and got to the hotel at 5pm. Each visit has been perfect and I really cannot fault this hotel. Service is brilliant, the reception staff, bar staff, and even the cleaners smile at you and always say 'hello'. They make you feel at home and are always happy to help. The lady in the bar, Mieke, was very friendly and would always tell us to grab a table and she would bring your drinks to you. It's a very clean and modern hotel, the rooms have loads of space and the beds are the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. When I checked out in Oct 09, I even asked the Receptionist where they got their beds from! The only down side is that it is very expensive, as are most hotels to be honest. Me and my Partner never had breakfast at the hotel as it's 12.50 euros just for a couple of croissants and 22.50 euros for a full breakfast. If you wanted room service then it was an extra 10 euros service charge. Therefore we would just venture into the city centre for a bite to eat. As can be expected, the mini-bar in the room is also very expensive i.e. 7 euros for a small pot of mixed nuts and 40 euros for a small bottle of bubbly. There is a Shell Petrol Station just round the corner from the hotel, so we would just get some drinks and snacks from there and keep them in our room. Location of the hotel is good and is situated within a quieter region of the city, therefore ideal for a romantic getaway. It's then just a short tram ride into the centre which costs 2.60 euros per person and this is valid for an hour, so you can hop on and off as many trams as you like within this period. Me and my Partner have had two great stays at this hotel and I would highly recommend to all couples out there who want to experience the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam, but want to wake up and go to sleep in peace. If you want to stay in a hotel closer to the centre, then you have to accept that it is probably going to be noisy in the evenings as there is always lots going on. To sum up, a great hotel with great staff, good location but just a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little_Travel_Bug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamApollo, Hotelmanager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear you are that enthusiastic about Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. It is really nice to notice you have enjoyed both stays in our hotel. Your remark on our staff makes us extremely happy. We also appreciate your remark on our prices as this allows us to improve our level of service.

We hope we may welcome you again!

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    546
    226
    78
    54
See reviews for
142
556
51
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

me and my partner have just returned from a weekend break in amsterdam. We booked this hotel through 'secret hotel' on lastminute.com, and were disappointed with the location, its a bit far out if you are used to staying in walking disstance of the heart of the city. we didnt have any problems with the hotel, apart from that on arrival to the hotel late at night following a nightmare journey to find the hotel from central station we were advised that they didnt have a room ready for use. To say i was disappointed was an understatement, i had seen prior to my trip that other reviewers had comented on this, however i hoped it would not happen to us, but hey! we were moved to a 5 star hotel near by (in the middle of no where) for the nite and told to return the following day at 12 noon. Once back at the hotel i spoke to a manager, who apologies and provided us with an upgraded room to make up for the hassle. The room we eventually got was really nice, right on the canal with a gorgeous view of the canal. All in all i enjoyed my stay at the hotel , just wish it was a bit closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmc2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamApollo, Hotelmanager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed the hotel and the upgraded room. We are sorry for the inconveniences caused during your first night in Amsterdam, but we are happy to hear you were satisfied with the way the problem has been solved.

We hope we may welcome you again,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We ended up at the Wyndham through the secret hotels gamble on lastminute.com, and can honestly say we were highly satisfied with the outcome. The hotel is a pleasant 20 minute walk from the city centre (depending on what side of the canal you walk up - the right hand side of the canal going toward the city centre had a mini-Red Light district!). It's also a 10 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. We enjoy walking about to get to know the city so we didn't use public transport, but there seemed to be plenty of trams passing us on the way to the city centre.

We had read some of the Tripadvisor reviews about the poor condition of the rooms that had not been refurbished. So we asked someone in the hotel if our booking was for a refurbished room using the excellent chat service on the apollohotelsresorts.com website. Our contact was very helpful - she told us that this could not be guaranteed, but we could upgrade to a canal view refurbished room for €25 per night. We ended up taking our chances. When we arrived (by taxi from Schipol, roughly €35) we had been upgraded to a refurbushed canal view room. Result.

The hotel is on a junction of 5 canals and is directly across from the local rowing club, so there was always something going in the water when you looked out the window (all very peaceful I should add, although the odd musical barge went past early in the evening). The room was excellent - a fair size, fine decor, Van Gogh style prints, leather chair and footrest to unwind on, plus a minibar which was a normal fridge and not one of these sensor-triggered jobs that charges you if you move a can of beer. The only complaint we had was with the bed - the sheets didn't seem to fit properly, and when we woke up they had ridden up and were gathered in the middle of the bed. No big deal but the only real complaint we had. Staff were all very pleasant, the concierge was very helpful on our departure.

We did not have meals or drinks at the hotel. There was a garage next to the hotel which sold all the traveller basics and a bakers just up the road (baakerswinkel) which has top cakes and scones. Yes, that's how interesting we are. Overall I'd recommend this hotel as a great base to stay at if you are looking for a quiet break.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiferover94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamApollo, Hotelmanager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are happy to hear your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam was to your satisfaction. It is really nice to notice you liked the location, the room and the minibar. We are also very pleased about your remark on our staff and on our Apollo Chat. We always do our best to offer the best service towards our guests.


We would love to welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We got this via a secret hotel deal on lastminute.com - and were really happy with it - it's a short tram into the centre but most of the time we walked in, as it's based in a nice neighbourhood so it's nice to walk....
We had a room on the ground floor, the beds were really comfy so we slept really well. The bathroom smelled slightly damp but it was fine.
the guy on the desk when we arrived was really friendly and made us feel very welcome and at home! Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh_minxCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamApollo, Hotelmanager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to remark on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We appreciate your review. It is very nice to hear you felt welcome in our hotel and you have enjoyed your stay that much.

We hope we may welcome you again!

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Very pleasant hotel with a lovely ambience. The rooms are nice and clean and the executive rooms have a great superking bed. There is a Churchill lounge with a large humidor offering an array of quality cigars which is a smoking lounge without a staff service.
The only downside to this beautiful hotel is that the focus of allthe staff seems to be to increase revenue rather than provide a service. Two vodkas at the hotel bar was 20 euros. Room service was limited and a burger cost 25 euros. I wouldn't expect to pay those prices in a 5 star hotel let alone a 4 star.
Don't let this put you off. As long as you don't mind not having room service at a reasonable price or using the bar for more than a couple of drinks then the hotel is an ideal base to explore the city. It is within a 5 minute walk from the nearest tram stop.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SG12038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamApollo, Hotelmanager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear your overall stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam was to your satisfaction. It is nice to notice you liked the Churchill Lounge and our selection of cigars.

We appreciate your remark on our prices; we will definitely use your comments in our next evaluation.

We hope we may welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of March for a city break. We booked it on last minute.com as a secret hotel so only paid £300 for 4 nights. The reviews on here were mixed though so we were a little concerned.
The only down side to our stay was the service from reception. We arrived early and thought we'd see if we could check in but unfortunately a room wasn't available. According to our booking, check-in was at 2pm but we arrived at 12pm so waited in reception. 2pm came though and we were then told by reception that their official check-in time was 3pm. It was a bit frustrating and we had hoped that as we were sat in reception for 3 hours they may have got a room ready but no, they kept us waiting until the bitter end!
After that it was all good though. We got given a lovely room (440) over looking the canal. It was very quiet and spacious. A really comfy bed. A good thermostat to get the room to the right temperature too so never too hot or cold!
The hotel is quite a long way out of the centre. However it only takes 10 minutes on the tram. We walked it a couple of times and it took 45 minutes. It is worthwhile getting a tram pass. It was 2.60€ for 1 hour, 7€ for 24 hours or 11€ for 48 hours. You can buy for longer if you want and you can hop on and off as much as you want then.
It was simple to get from the airport to the hotel. The train from the airport to central station run regulalry and cost about €6. Then get on the 24 or 5 tram outside the station to the Apollolaan Station. Turn left off the tram and the hotel is about a 5 minute walk.
Lots of great places to eat and drink. AllStars doesn't look much from outside but does the best steak!
Final point to warn you about. When we checked out of the hotel we were presented with a bill for a City Tax for each night of our stay which we weren't expecting. It cost us 17€ for the 4 nights.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAandTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamApollo, Hotelmanager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam was to your satisfaction. We think it is great you have enjoyed your room that much.

Regarding your comment on the check in procedure; could you please tell us if our reception staff informed you about the check in time our luggage room? This way we will be able to provide the service towards our guests.

Thank you very much.
We hope we may welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Booked this hotel a week and a half before our trip as a lastminute.com mystery hotel for £150 for friday and saturday. I was initially worried by previous reviews that it was going to be horrible, but we were pleasantly surprised on arrival. It was a bit far out, but for the price you'd expect that and it was lovely. We had been upgraded to a refurbished room (so maybe there are still some old rooms that could do with some attention) but our twin bedroom was comfortable and well furnished and the lobby and bar area was very plush and nice. Pretty much Malmaison/Crowne Plaza stylee. We were two late twenties girls up for exploring, but wanting a comfortable safe place to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahthegiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamApollo, Hotelmanager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are happy to notice your stay was to your satisfaction. We think it is great you were ‘pleasantly surprised’ about our hotel.

We hope we may welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#102 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,042 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#100 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,339 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#36 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 4,163 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Property: Wyndham Apollo
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène or The Harbour Club Kitchen. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing