We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't pass on the fresh cream!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Ranked #5 of 96 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't pass on the fresh cream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

A casual family style restaurant in the Jordaan area with the best apple pie. Other dishes looked quite good too but we went there only for the apple pie and it did not disappoint. We asked if we could get it a-la-mode (with ice cream) but they had no ice cream. Instead our waiter suggested trying it with the fresh cream side. I'm so glad we agreed because it was the best combination. The cream was fresh and light ... So different from the US. The pie is a generous slice of a ton of apples baked into a soft crust ... melt in the mouth and with the cream just YUMMY!! We stayed in the Jordaan area and it was a 2 minute walk from our hotel, so very convenient. But I would be willing to walk a mile for this apple pie!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frem862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,317
    621
    134
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Flippin good apple pie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Go to this café for a piece of apple pie and a coffee, it's really, really good! It's always pretty busy so you might have to wait for a seat, or get there early. Sharing tables is the done thing at busy times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste of Happiness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Being recommended by the guide book as "THE BEST Appeltaart" in town, we have decided to come and visit. The apple pie did not disappoint us and it was really amazing (probably the BEST apple pie i have EVER had). Also, we have ordered Traditional Dutch Meatball as snack, however, it was not as good as the apple pie did!! so.. I WILL ONLY RECOMMEND and CREDIT FOR THE APPLE PIE!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Apple Pie EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We read the TA raves and decided to go despite a rainy night. We were able to get a seat at the bar upon arrival and the bartender recommended a really good "white beer" that was tasty. We then got a table and considered dinner, but decided to just go with the apple pie. It was huge, hot, creamy, tasty -- shall I go on. It will be the apple pie I judge apple pies on for the rest of my life. My daughter had chocolate mousse because she doesn't like applies (her loss) and hot chocolate and loved it as well. This was a real highlight of a 19 day Europe trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
447 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Best Appeltaart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great service, comfy outside seats and of course the best appeltaart I ever tried.

The coffee is also very good and it's an easy place to find.

Recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RLuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing