We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Appeltaart”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Ranked #5 of 102 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Best Appeltaart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great service, comfy outside seats and of course the best appeltaart I ever tried.

The coffee is also very good and it's an easy place to find.

Recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RLuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,504
    681
    149
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
272 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best apple pie ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you are looking for the best apple pie ever, friendly staff and a nice atmosphere, look no further: this is you place!
After reading all the positive reviews, I thought it would be worth waiting for a table (they get very busy!) - it totally was! Amazing pie!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best apple pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

If you like apple pies then this place is a must. Best apple pie I've ever had. It does get really busy especially when the weather is nice but wait around and you'll find a nice seat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

It seems that many of the best rated restaurants in Amsterdam are actually cafés. The Winkel seemed very popular amongst locals and tourists alike. It was very busy and a bit difficult to find a nice table outside. But once we did, it was exactly as most fellow reviewers here have noted: the coffee is very decent, and the apple pie is more than that. Perhaps I wouldn't go out of my way for the experience, but it's a lovely stop on the way to the market.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seminartraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apple pie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I think I might have been a bit disappointed with the apple pie after reading all the great reviews on trip advisor. We made a special point to get to winkles to get there apple pie. It was good and different then an American Apple pie. But I would not say it is the best I have ever had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calliemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing