We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I Could Make It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Ranked #4 of 103 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wish I Could Make It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I spent two days in Amsterdam in early August. One of our food priorities was eating apple pie at the Winkel Cafe.
When we saw a long line of people waiting to buy apple pie and a patio full of happy people eating apple pie we knew we had come to the right place. After making our purchase we were delighted to find a window table. We sat down for what we hoped would be a memorable experience. One bite of this "deep dish" apple pie is all it took; we loved it the minute we tasted it. Talk about a wow factor!!!
Since returning home I've searched and searched the web for a recipe which comes close to duplicating the sensational apple pie we enjoyed at the Winkel Cafe. Sorry to say, I still haven't found it. The one recipe my wife and I tried was good, but not nearly as good as we were hoping for.
If you are planning a visit to Amsterdam, do your "taste buds" a HUGE favor and eat "deep dish" apple pie at the Winkel Cafe. Tasting this delicious apple pie - the best we've ever had - is an experience I'm willing to bet you'll cherish for a long, long time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,446
    657
    143
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoy the cake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Slow down! Order a beer and meatball appetizer and then enjoy a slice of their incredible apple masterpiece! Enjoy the outdoor cafe experience, friendly staff and beautiful neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsrabbit4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
343 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“If you eat one piece of cake while visiting....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Winkel's is the place for it!!! There apple pie/cake is an absolute joy to your taste buds. Their coffee drinks are of good quality... but here it is all about the APPLE PIE/CAKE! oh... and get it with whipped cream!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious apple pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We only ate the apple pie here so cant comment on anything else. But the apple pie was absolutely delicious (and reasonably priced) and we will definitely be returning for more. We did try dutch apple pie elsewhere in amsterdam and this was the best. Some other reviews mentioned problems with service but we had no problem on a thursday afternoon and the waitress was very pleasant, friendly and quick.

Helpful?
Thank DiscerningTravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
161 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Ok apple pie, nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I came to Winkle 43 with a party of 3 for a quick late afternoon snack - we had 1 apple pie, 2 glasses of mint tea, and coffee here, all for slightly over €10 - not bad!

The apple pie was pretty good, though I'm not a pie-loving person, so I'm not able to tell you if it lives up to the claim of being the "best apple pie in all of Amsterdam".
However it seems to be really popular with the folks, and the long (but rather fast-moving) queue stretched all the way out down the steps.

If you intend to visit the Winkel 43, you might want to schedule your visit together with the Saturday Lindenmarkt and Noordermarkt, which are wonderful markets that are extremely nearby as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cowfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing