We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dinner, great apple pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Ranked #5 of 102 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good dinner, great apple pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The dinner was very reasonably priced (11 euros for a main dish) but only 4 or 5 main dishes offered. We esp. enjoyed the veggie offer: mushroom risotto. The ribeye with cabbage and potatoes was so-so and the Thai chicken was good but not great. But we really went here for the apple pie which is super as everyone has said! Friendly wait staff. On a nice day it's wonderful to sit outside; on a rainy day it's 'gezellig' though a bit dark inside. They serve apple pie til 1am!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,504
    681
    149
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Big Appeltaartje”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

OK, that's a linguistic contradiction in a way, this is simply the best apple cake in Amsterdam for me since 1995. And that I suspect would only be longer had I tasted it before that year! Destination-worthy. Period. And they make excellent cappuccinos to partner your appeltaart.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayAlanYim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delectable apple pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The secret's out and has been for a long time - Winkel's the place to get apple pie! The cherry on top, so to speak, is that they serve fresh whipped cream on the pie. We headed there after the Anne Frank House and it was good to have a pick-me-up after that somber experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best apple pie in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to Winkel after reading up about the famous apple pie in a newspaper. We were not disappointed . The apple pie has a most delicious crust and generous amount of apple. We enjoyed it so much that we skipped dessert at our dinner restaurant and went back to Winkel as they are open late!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unbeatable apple tart met slagroom!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This apple tart is simply to die for. The 'pastry' is biscuity, the apple, apply and the cream not too much. I've had too many than is good for me, but still......

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing