We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than mom's apple pie!”
Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Ranked #4 of 106 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than mom's apple pie!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nobody does it better - While it is not your typical flakey pastry pie crust, Winkel's Dutch Apple pie topped with real whipped cream is hand's down the best, most scrumptious dessert. We stopped on a Saturday morning after shopping the street market in the Jordaan. We sat outside, drank our hot beverage while savoring this still warm from the oven dessert. Knowing we would only be in Amsterdam 8 days we stopped again 3 days later and all four of us ordered apple pie for dinner. Sinfull but yummy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CatzandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,613
    714
    149
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small romantic pub”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

For a great feel of being with locals and Dutch food go here. My husband and I ate here the first night of our honeymoon. You might have to wait to grab a seat but it's well worth the wait. The servers were quite helpful with our limited Dutch vocabulary and their meal suggestions hit the spot. Cheap beer and reasonable prices. A great way to end the night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The other reviews come from a sweet sweet truth... ”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The best place to sample the apple cake, it was warm and comforting. Matched with a hot chocolate overlooking the canal, sheer bliss. Only one issue my husband dropped our camera in the big pile of cream and refused to swap!

Helpful?
1 Thank tonybrinsden1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colchester
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Yummy apple pie”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

You have to go here for the apple pie. It's delicious! In fact I wish I could have some now! You know it's good when people are queuing out of the door. Great value for money and a lovely seating area outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janine_hallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best Apple pie”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went there recommend by my wife's cousing. It was difficult finding the place because Prinzengratch on the Noodermarkt side was with construction site and has it was market day the bistro was a little in the hidding. But eventually the apple pie smell guided us there. And what a pie. I went for the apple pie with cream and fresh mint tea combination and still today I pitty why I don't live in Amesterdam to go there more often.
The pie was great, warm, just about out the hoven. The pastry if absolutely flawless and the filling likewise.
Well worth a visit. If you go from Liedseplein, take Liedsetraat, turn left on Prinzengratch and just keep walking up, when you pass Anne Frank's house (on the other side of the canal) it's make 200m forward and then you get to the corner and Noordermarkt square.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PedroAVHenriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing