We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good value and got atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe

Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe
Ranked #86 of 3,376 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value and got atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A friendly setting although a bit crowded because it's a small restaurant. The food is of good quality and the service is friendly. It's a typical Dutch eatery that serves pub food and some typical Dutch dishes and starters. I especially like their Thai Salad, a spicy noodle salad with beef. Their main meat dishes are right up my alley as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael094163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    129
    26
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This a smallish restaurant in a street full of them and you have to run the gauntlet of people trying to entice you into their places.

We received a friendly welcome and were shown to a table outside which was nice on a very warm evening. There is an extensive menu and competively priced. The service in general was very good & helpful.

We enjoyed our meal here but have to say we had better during our trip. We didn't think the portions were as large as previously claimed and the lamb I had was a little overcooked for my taste. But overall it was good and value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loshennells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Mi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found this restaurant using trip advisor. It was quite small and we found two seats at the bar. I got the special which was chicken on top of pesto and came with a salad. It was a ton of food and very reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tamw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food if you have a big appetite ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Regular visitors to Amsterdam and always visit s & s.
staff friendly and welcoming. Always busy while most around are empty.
A little bit cramped for room but the food is great.
Only tackle the ribs if you are particularly hungry. I struggle to finish which is unusual for me!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A nice small restaurant with a good service. Don't miss it is you are nearby Leidseplein square. A meat or fish main-course you won't regret. My favorite spare ribs and boiled mussels.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frajle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing