We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sensational Spa Experience & Comfortable Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver
Ranked #103 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sensational Spa Experience & Comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We visited Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver for an early winter break - there is no better way way than to get through the winter than a relaxing spa break.

Tripadvisor does not allow the hotel and spa to be rated separately, and so our ratings are combined ratings for the two different facilities. However, the Spa is quite simply sensational (and we are familiar with Sauna Van Egmond, Haarlem and Sauna Deco as a benchmark)!

Hotel Zuiver is part of a modern sports complex comprising huge tennis facilities and swimming pool etc. The Hotel accommodation is separate but with shared reception (contrary to some other reports staff were welcoming,friendly and obliging). We stayed in a junior suite which was very contemporary, comfortable and of a good size with a lovely bathroom, and separate large circular bath. Beds are extremely comfortable, with good quality egyptian cotton bed-linen and we slept well. As with the rest of the complex our room was very clean.

Services could easily be enhanced with coffee/tea making facilities in room, and a junior suite could reasonably be expected to be equippped wih fridge/mini-bar. Tourist information and maps could be provided in a folder within the room, although good maps of Amsterdam are available from reception so don't hesitate to ask. Breakfast was o.k. - a selection of bread, ham, cheese, yoghurt, bowl of fruit and coffee and cooked breakfast.

Spa Zuiver

Firstly, we cannot understand how previous reviewers managed to get as far as the Spa without appreciating that the culture in Holland (and indeed much of Europe) is that swimming costumes are not worn. We were politely informed by staff at 3 different points that the Spa is costumeless. Once inside people from 16 years to 80+ (including ourselves) are completely comfortable and relaxed being naked.

On entering the Spa there is a choice of 6 different changing rooms of various sizes. Once in our robes we were given a tour by a very courteous and pleasant member of staff. Spa Zuiver is rated 5 stars by us for service, facilities, and cleanliness - it is quite simply the best sauna/spa we have come across. The spa has just about every type of sauna, steam room, whirlpool, caldarium and aromabath imaginable, and an indoor/outdoor pool.

Inside, the spa facilities include three different types of sauna, steam room, two whirlpool baths, cold plunge pools, cold shower areas, caldarium (warm tiled loungers), and two warm aroma baths. There are numerous showers with good quality gel/body wash, shampoo and salt (try scrubbing yourself for an invigorating experience and beautiful smooth skin afterwards). Downstairs, off the spa area is a restaurant, while upstairs is a large balconied relaxation/refreshment area with comfortable chairs,couches and water beds.

The pool is at the centre of the spa and allows you to swim from indoors to outside (although you can also go outside through the doors)............Outside are three further saunas (including a log fire sauna, and a music sauna), steam room, a large outdoor whirlpool bath and a warm plunge pool. A couple of times a day a "Sauna meister" (Sauna Master) adds aromas and water in the finnish sauna and wafts the vapours - which is a pure relaxation that has to be experienced).

So, if you are seeking relaxation and a break during the long winter, a visit to Spa Zuiver has our complete recommendation - all within 5 miles or so of Amsterdam (Schipol) airport.
Don't hesitate............. JUST DO IT!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amacturner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    70
    35
    6
    14
See reviews for
14
80
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

nice room with a huge rain shower
free internet
parking cost 15e
varity of food in resturant is poor
no coffee kit in the room

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

After our party we sleaped in this hotel, the manager arranged some specific requests for us, breakfest in the room was great. Rooms are big, we stayed in the one with a large round bath. Next day enjoyed the modern spa, but Holland has more nicer spa;s.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The rooms in this hotel were simple and elegant. The shower was the best I think I've ever had anywhere. However, many little niggly things could be improved:

- always understaffed at reception
- only give one key card - so if someone in the room has the key, you cannot gain access to the hotel without queueing at the reception each time
-food in the main cafeteria which also serves the tennis club was boring and very expensive for all three meals

lovely location inside a leafy green park, however, and Amsterdam about 30 minutes away via a handy bus.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noscreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I enjoyed my stay here very much. Staff was very helpful, The spa is luxuriious and is worth every penny you spend on it, the place is clean and tidy and has a nice restaurant it is kind of a mixture between a hotel and hostel. It has the amenities of a hotel in a price that is closer to a hostel. It far from the cuty, though, so take it in account. On the other hand it is near to schipol. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achihod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We were on our first visit to Amsterdam but wanted to include a Spa in order to relax after Christmas. In the end we booked the Spa package for the three days we were there.
Previous reviews have mentioned that it is not the easiest place to get to or get into Amsterdam from. This made me slightly nervous but really there was no need to worry.
Before we came away I inquired about taxi/limousine from the airport and was quoted 90 euros return which I thought was a bit excessive when the distance was about 5 miles maximum. So I asked the hotel about buses and in the end we took the 197 from the Schipol Plaza at the airport to Amstelveensewag. Time 20 minutes. Cost 8 euros for both of us. This stop was about a 10 minute walk from the Hotel Spa Zuiver. We could have taken another bus (170 or 172) the 2 stops down the road but didn't bother.
On the subject of travel, I'll finish off... Going in to Amsterdam - we caught the 170 or 172 from the Koenenkade bus stop on the Amstelveensewag main road. We got off outside Anne Franks house but could have continued to the Central Station. Cost 2 euros each. The buses have screens showing the next few stops so you can work out when you will be getting off.

The Hotel.
We arrived at 10.00 and were too early to book in to our room but we just dropped off our bag and went to the Spa. When we checked in later in the day we were very pleased with our room. Very clean. Good facilities and the most excellent shower. Each morning our room was cleaned while we were at breakfast and it was done to a high standard. The breakfast was okay. We thought a bit pricey - 15 euros. Breads, croissant, pastry, yogurt, juice, cheese, meat, scrambled egg, boiled egg, bacon, tea and coffee. It sounds good as I write this but I still think for 15 euros it was a bit much. We didn't have dinner in the hotel - it looked a bit like it might be canteen type food (a bit unfair as we didn't actually try it) so we ate in the Spa which was excellent. Reception staff were all helpful and very polite.

The Spa.
Entrance to the spa was down a short corridor from the hotel reception, so on the days when we had already checked in we just wandered down the corridor in our bath robes and flip flops. The changing rooms, of which there are 6 are mixed. The entire spa is totally nude only.
Once inside there are numerous showering locations with good gel, shampoo and copious amounts of salt to scrub yourself. Indoors there are two water rooms where you can lay in warm scented waters, three saunas of differing degrees, cold plunge pools, cold shower areas, a steam room, two hot tubs, a hot tiled bed room, two relaxation rooms a restaurant area and a large balconied relaxation room which has hot water beds, couches and a bar where they also serve sushi and dim sum. This balcony looks down onto the pool area which goes from indoors outside via an easy opening glass partition. on the outside the pool is about the same size again. It is nice swimming from inside to out, especially as when we went it was quite cold outside.
Outside there are two more saunas, a calcium room, a log fire sauna, a large outdoor hot tub and a warm plunge pool. Despite the cold and even rain on one evening all these facilities were well used. Yes it was cold getting out of the warm water and going to your next location but quite invigorating.

Spa restaurant / bar cafes. The drinks were reasonably priced. The food was of very good quality. The chefs and their cooking areas were visible when eating our meals. Very relaxed and very professional. The sushi and dim sum, served in the upstairs relaxation room were also of very good quality.

On our third day, my birthday, we were there from 10.00 to 23.00 and didn't get bored.
A great place to stay and a great spa to relax in.

Everyone we met from the bus drivers, reception, restaurant staff... were all so polite, nice and helpful. We will be going back to Amsterdam and the hotel Spa Zuiver.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LadyEdiSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel is advertised as a spa-hotel, but the hotel is actually a very nice 'dorm-type' room in a part of the sports (tennis) complex and the spa is quite a separate thing.
The beds are two singles pushed together (which separate, so be warned couples!!), but they were extremely comfortable and we slept well. The reception is the reception for the sports centre, and so very busy at most times.

The staff were extremely pleasant, however we were disappointed with the services - no coffeee/tea/minibar/fridge in room; no maps or tourist information at front desk; no information offered by reception about the facilities at the complex; breakfast cost 12.50 euros whether you have everything eg. bread, ham, cheese, yoghurt etc or just a bowl of fruit and coffee.

The room was a good size with a lovely bathroom and, as with the rest of the complex, very clean, but there were only two small hooks to hang towels/bathrobes on, and no towel rail anywhere else in room. And due to the layout, those in the bedroom, can hear very clearly what is happening in the toilet!! Also, many of the rooms face the carpark, so there was not much privacy in the mornings - wonderful big windows and a glass door which we were not able to enjoy to the full.

I got a good deal on this room, and it was a very pleasant stay - lovely to be right at the forest and only 15 mins by bus to the city centre - but I would have felt very cheated if I had paid full price for this - the hotel website glamourizes it far too much.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravels1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#102 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#111 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver

Property: Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver
Address: Koenenkade 8 (Amsterdam Forest), 1081 KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing