We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Vastly Expensive For Drab Rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Floris France Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #318 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Vastly Expensive For Drab Rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Don't be taken in by the good looking pictures on their website. The reception area looks great in person, but very few of the rooms look anything like they do on the website. We requested 2 double rooms opposite or next to each other (not a difficult request when you book months in advance), instead they gave us 2 triple rooms on different floors. We were told there'd be a kettle in the room, there wasn't and when they gave us one it used an American style plug in a European room?! Safe to say that was unusable. Obviously these are minor points - the biggest point is that the room was uncomfortable and aesthetically un-pleasing. It's ok if you're a backpacker or if you literally only need a place to rest your head, but it's the kind of place that makes you want to spend as little time in it as possible. Our "double" bed was just two single beds pushed together, which for a couple was not what we wanted or what we booked.

On a positive note, the included breakfast in the pub next door was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlliePlimsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    137
    202
    125
    170
See reviews for
74
251
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The sheets were stained, the pillow smelled, the window curtains were broken and didn't even extend all the way to the window sill so the sun poured in at dawn. The air conditioning vent had no cover, the bathroom just looked stained in general. I didn't even want to unpack my clothes to put them in the cabinet/dresser provided because I was afraid of what would infest into them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 626Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for New Years, place is very run down, location is central (only positive thing), the room we had felt like a storage press, no window in our room and was very disappointing as there was excellent displays of fire works going off all NY night, decor dated and bed and wardrobe of poor quality. The bathroom was very small, toilet was terrible, think it was meant to have been white at some stage! Wifi would not work!! Would not go back here again and would not recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was cheap so could not complain but room was dirty and very outdated the bathroom stunk of urine (not nice) didn't even go in the bed as I did not feel clean. Staff were friendly and breakfast next door was nice would not go back sorry hotel France

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mickybee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Allthough the revieuw I have been reading were bad the hotel was ok for me
Excellent location breakfast included in the next door Nice Irish pub
The quality of the towels were very very poor The curtains in the room I stayed were too small for the window so I was woken up by the day light at 4.30 in the morning.

Room Tip: If you are a solo traveller ask for room 411 at least it is in the topfloor looking on the top of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Gerritdina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

A no frills hotel but good enough to put your head down for a couple of nights & somewhere to freshen up! I would recommend taken your OWN pillowcase, but apart from that the room was more than adequate. The breakfast was ok next door in Molly Malones but you get a better 1 at the Bulldog for €8.50. As for the people working the reception there need to go on a People Skills course, very rude & not very helpful. The best thing about this hotel is the location but on that note if I was travelling with the lads this hotel is ok, if you want better or your staying with your partner try the Barbizon Palace opposite!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laumarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#267 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,106 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#242 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris France Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Floris France Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Kolk 11, 1012 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris France Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
France Hotel is located on a quiet canal street and yet only 200 meters from Amsterdam Central Station. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and Irish pub. The rooms have air conditioning, free WiFi and Free International phone calls and are equipped with private bathroom. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the restaurant and pub. When weather is nice, guests can sit on the small, waterside terrace. During the day, guests can get coffee, tea, snacks and drinks from the vending machines in the lobby. There is free WiFi in all the rooms and public area.From France Hotel, you can take a 10-minute walk to Dam Square and go shopping in the Kalverstraat. The Red Light District is a 5-minute walk away. Trams 5, 16 and 24 at the station offer direct access to the Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Floris France Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing