We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great staff and good value of money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of France Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
France Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #305 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff and good value of money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

After I keep looking for hostel or low price hotel for 3 hours I couldn't find any place to sleep and when it comes 3 am I been under rain and homeless even after I checked all hotels around except 5 starts hotels because it was out of my budget then I found that place and luckily I found one room with 55 euro and also they offer me break fast and it was great night there

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    151
    209
    128
    171
See reviews for
78
263
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

To start wth the positive things, location is really good.Everything is in walking distance. Breakfast is in the next door Irish pub and was very good. The girl at the front desk was kind and helpful.On the negative side, price we paid for the room was too high for its quality. The room was small, not cleaned well and no windows,old stains from water leaks in the bathroom.Having in mind the location of the hotel it's a waste owners don't improve its quality.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_reality_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel before I knew what to expect, therefore I booked a Canal view room, and it was worth it, the room is bigger than the other rooms and you actually see something out of the window besides a brick wall. True the hotel desperately needs some refurbishment, everything is quite old and worn down, but then again the location is superb and the next door irish pub "Molly Malone " is just great, the breakfast is sufficient so are the meals they serve during the day.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: book a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night while on a business visit, if I was with my wife we would have gone to another hotel and ask for a refund. The room was filthy including the sheets and in very bad repair with the curtains falling down and water stains on the ceiling. The worse thing is as there were bed bugs. I only spotted them in the morning otherwise I would not have stayed the night. The breakfast was very poor. When I complained to reception about the bed bugs all they said was that it was terrible. The only good thing was the canal view.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Jonty98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A return visit to this hotel which is reasonably priced and in an excellent location. when booking a room pay the extra for a canal view. The location is why this hotel should be considered, Near the railway station, major tram lines and easy walking distance to the main shopping area and landmarks. The room was average, yes it was not sparking clean and could have done with a make over, but it is what it is. The pub next door Molly Malones serves good breakfast on behalf of the hotel. Use this hotel if having a short city break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and I arrived at this hotel around 12:00 hours on the 16th of April 2014.
The receptionist was fine, but not totally enthusiastic, a bit 'matter of fact'. "I'm only doing a job and I'm not really that bothered".
We were given the keys to our room, number 307, We went to the lift and went up to the third floor. The cleaners were cleaning the rooms on both sides of the corridor. We past some rooms on our right hand side and they looked poor. I hoped our room would be better. The ones on the left hand side, overlooking the canal, looked much better. Alas, our room was situated at the rear of the 'hotel', on the right hand side. On opening the room door we found there was only one window, at the very top of the room, allowing light. Disappointed as we were, my wife started to examine every aspect of the room. There was another window, obscured by the an old wardrobe, with curtains that were hanging off the rail. The pillow case was taken off and my wife was horrified at the actual pillow which was very stained. She was not going to sleep on that pillow. I was dispatched to get some new pillows, and the new receptionist was a bit more helpful and we were given two new ones.
On leaving the hotel on our first trip out, waiting for the lift, we noticed the dust, beside the lift was at least a quarter of an inch deep. The cleaner obviously vacuums where the machine fits. The door to the ensuite toilet has an air vent at the bottom. It has never been cleaned. ( I have never been compelled to do a review before, so I hope there is a way of inserting photos) The manager, if there is one, the cleaner, and the people involved in this hotel, without too much persuasion, could, make this the three star hotel it is supposed to be. We were totally disappointed, although, after reading the other reviews there are some good points, mainly the location, and a decent breakfast being served in the Irish bar (Molly Malones) next door.

There is much more (negative) things I could say, but please (hopefully) just look at the photos.

JIB

Room Tip: Inist on a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barneybear1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Im not your typical brit that moans and says this and that, i read the reviews and thought ill make my own decision, first impression its run down but in the heart of the red light district next to a gay bar.

room was ok was a bit clean the bed sheets were stained.

we were woken up to scurrying in the middle of the night to find a mouse trying to get in my suitcase, after my mother screaming and me having to go down stairs to report it the receptionist moved us rooms but didn't care.

Ive stayed in 2 stars 1 stars hostels, gone camping and NOTHING has ever given me that experience pure filthy AVOID at all costs!

If i could give it a zero mark it would get a zero.

the only positive was the irish bar attached.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#283 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,264 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#243 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to France Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about France Hotel Amsterdam

Property: France Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Kolk 11, 1012 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — France Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
France Hotel is located on a quiet canal street and yet only 200 meters from Amsterdam Central Station. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and Irish pub. The rooms have air conditioning, free WiFi and Free International phone calls and are equipped with private bathroom. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the restaurant and pub. When weather is nice, guests can sit on the small, waterside terrace. During the day, guests can get coffee, tea, snacks and drinks from the vending machines in the lobby. There is free WiFi in all the rooms and public area.From France Hotel, you can take a 10-minute walk to Dam Square and go shopping in the Kalverstraat. The Red Light District is a 5-minute walk away. Trams 5, 16 and 24 at the station offer direct access to the Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your France Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing