We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“You get what you pay for!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of France Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
France Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #291 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Earls Colne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“You get what you pay for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the France hotel January 2013 and it was the cheapest hotel and we was expecting a lot worse that what we got!
The Location was outstanding, it was no more that an 5 minute walk to the centre and to the red light district. I don't think you could get any better
The outside of the hotel does look very tired and could do with painting but you are not going to be looking at the outside for very long so don't be to critical and just get on with it. the inside was very tidy and clean and modern which was a good start and then the receptionist was very kind and spoke very good English. Our room was very basic and didn't have much to it but we didn't care because we were only sleeping in it. was have no bed bugs and no stained sheets, nothing! the bed was very comfy and i had a great night sleep each night we were there. our bathroom was also very clean but a bit tired but it had a great shower and everything worked fine, as did the TV and lights. i could of done with a kettle so we could of had a tea and coffee in the morning but that's the only fault i had with it.
You can not be to critical with this hotel because it is a basic hotel and you are only sleeping their! and for a young person like myself you don't need anymore than what you get. a TV with English channels and the shortest walk to everything.

I am now going back to Amsterdam in 2 weeks for 3 nights and 4 days and i am staying in the France Hotel because it is worthy of going back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieR2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    166
    216
    129
    171
See reviews for
81
276
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you want to like stayin in Floris France Hotel, make sure you book a rook with the windows. Otherwise you will hate it. My first night was in room woth out windows, and I hated it there. But when I've swiched rooms, another night was nice and confortable.
Hotel is clean but old and tired, it need general renovation.
Breakfast was served in pub next door, simple but very nice.

Room Tip: Choose one with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veniuszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
308 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

First, the positives: Good location, just 5 minutes walk to Amsterdam Central Station and the trams. Close to the red-light district, the backpackers area and about 15 minutes walk to the main medevial attractions and glitzy departmental stores in the city. Just walk a bit further and you'll hit the shopping streets. Breakfast in the Irish pub next door was delicious and plentiful.
Now, for the negatives: Room felt very cabin-like, with only one small frosted window (I hear some rooms have no windows). Room floors were greasy for some reason and while bathroom wasn't dirty, it wasn't sparkling either. Reception area and lobby could do with some tidying up, the carpets always looked filthy and there was a certain mess to the place. Only 1 tiny and slow elevator serving about 5 floors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sychim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My stay at the Floris France started with the discovery that my room 107 had no window, upon entering the room it smelt of urine and it was almost impossible to get rid of the smell without ventilation.

During my three day stay at the hotel I started to notice bites appearing on my legs and arms, on the final day of the trip I noticed a small reddish bug on the bed and caught it in a cup. After looking it up on the internet, I confirmed that it was a bed bug complete with a full blood meal.

Even the best deal on this hotel won't save you the expense in dry cleaning and pest control that will be required to save your house also being infested! Don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luxal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location,being near central train station,and the breakfast at Irish pub next door was fine,however every thing else about hotel was below standard. The elevator was extremely slow going up and down to room,the room did have a window which looked out onto rooftop next door, and closing bracket on window was broken, the shower doors were very hard to open and close, the shower it self was dirty with mold, there was a grate missing on air handling system up high on wall, there was a plastic container and some small pieces of paper up on the top of the closet and there was a hinge broken on the one doors of the closet.Very noisy in hallway at night.Air quality was very poor in room.This was an over priced hotel room and would not recommend to any one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

After checking through some of the comments posted about this hotel, the actual Floris France came as a surprise.

It has it's weaknesses - many of the rooms don't have access to outside windows (which I imagine is normal for the tightly packed canal front standard buildings in this city), the furniture was fairly basic etc. but it is so convenient for the city, central station, the red light district that the negatives barely mattered.

The hotel is well presented from the outside with a nicely styled lobby - the front desk was staffed at all times and the reception was friendly (in that slightly direct Dutch way - a combo of German efficiency tempered with their famed liberal attitude and healthy command of sarcasm).

The bathroom was clean and fairly up to date. The wardrobe had hangers. The beds were fine - I slept ok (in the few hours I spent in the room between dashing hither and thither between sites and hedonistic experiences!) Our room was just off the lobby, but the walls were substantial enough for the noise not to disturb us and it isn't a huge hotel so there isn't that much traffic.

The breakfast (part of the deal, served at Molly's bar next door) was the typical Dutch spread of eggs, bacon, cold meats with cereals and fruit. Plenty for all, as much as you wanted plus coffee and juice.

I wouldn't recommend it for honeymoons - or any trip when staying around the hotel for a prolonged amount of time is a possibility. It functions as a well presented, basic, convenient base for Amsterdam, especially for larger groups wanting to explore the more colourful side of the city.

Andrew

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very basic hotel, dated. Reminded me of dorms. The room had old furniture, bathroom needed to be replaced. Windows were at the top of the walls so you couldn't see out. The only good thing about the hotel is it is in a central location close to Central Station and attractions. Breakfast was in the pub next door however the food was good. Think this would be a good hotel if you were backpacking round Amsterdam, not for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LWH1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#285 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#190 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to France Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about France Hotel Amsterdam

Property: France Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Kolk 11, 1012 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — France Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
France Hotel is located on a quiet canal street and yet only 200 meters from Amsterdam Central Station. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and Irish pub. The rooms have air conditioning, free WiFi and Free International phone calls and are equipped with private bathroom. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the restaurant and pub. When weather is nice, guests can sit on the small, waterside terrace. During the day, guests can get coffee, tea, snacks and drinks from the vending machines in the lobby. There is free WiFi in all the rooms and public area.From France Hotel, you can take a 10-minute walk to Dam Square and go shopping in the Kalverstraat. The Red Light District is a 5-minute walk away. Trams 5, 16 and 24 at the station offer direct access to the Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your France Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing