We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Amsterdam Canal Apartment Your view from the table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
136 reviews
Living Room
Amsterdam Canal Apartment
Your view from the table
The Studio Bedroom
Your table with view
Living Room
Living Room
The Studio Bedroom
Your more then kingsize bed
The Studio Bedroom
Your beddings
The Studio Bedroom
Hallways
Your kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Your dream kitchen
Bathroom
Your living area
Your living area with antiques
Amsterdam Canal Apartment from the opposite bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 136 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ronnpardu...
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent 15 nights in February in the Canal View Apartment. It really felt like Home away from Home. The owner Bas is very responsive and helpful. Upon arrival the Taxi service that was included with the rental price and set up by Bas was easy and convenient. Just be sure to call the Taxi Service number when you get to the luggage area to let them know you have arrived. They only took 15 minutes to show up after the call. You need to go upstairs to the departure area to meet the taxi. They will let you know where they are parked. Ours was at the B area directly outside.

Once we arrived at the apartment we were warmly met and given an overview of the apartment. This is a good time to ask questions especially on operation of the appliances, heater, shower,etc. The apartment itself is very well equipped from kitchen essentials (even a wine bottle opener), towels, toiletries, to a very comfortable American King Size Bed. There is also an additional bed tucked away in a cubby hole in the apartment living room. We did not use it but it appeared to be a single size bed.

The Nespresso machine was a nice bonus. We used it several times, but there is also a filter coffee pot and a kettle for heating water. We found some very good coffee at the nearby, (very close) Albert Heijn Market and mostly used the filter coffee pot. Already missing the coffee and a stroopewafel to get the day started.

The wireless internet worked very well the entire stay. We could stream Netflix with no problems.

The location is perfect, its tucked away off the main street so you don’t the groups of tourist walking by. Yet you are still so close to everything, being centrally located. We walked to the Ann Frank House that was maybe 20mins walking. There are numerous shops and cafes along the way, not to mention the canals which present a photo op at every bridge. Also, the New Market metro entrance is right around the corner from the apartment. We used it many times to central station, and to the Ziggio Dome for the Disturbed/Avenged Sevenfold Concert.

Other reviews mention the lack of curtains in the hallway between the living area and the kitchen/bathroom area. This didn’t bother us, just cover up or walk fast. We didn’t feel like we were being watched. There are curtains by the bed window and the front window so there is privacy.

Overall, we will definitely stay here again we don’t have any negatives about the apartment. The only thing I would advise travelers to prepare for, and this is not specific to this apartment, I believe its Amsterdam in general and to be expected, but if you are a light sleeper bring Ear Plugs. Walls are thin. There wasn’t consistent noise here, but occasionally you could hear neighbors talking and footsteps.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copper654
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second Time As Good As First...”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Wrote my first review in Feb 2016 with the statement we would return. We did...and it was as good as we remembered. We again rented both apartments for a total party of 5 people. We felt very much at home, even more so since we were familiar with the area which is central to everything: metro, market, shops, restaurants. We even took the train from Central Station and took a 60 minute ride to Delft, a beautiful little town famous for the Delft blue pottery.

We love these apartments and plan to be back in February 2018!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just a super location and quaint apartment. Handy to metro and museums. Very impressed. We will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stretch28
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Canal views in a fantastic city”
Reviewed November 24, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our time in Amsterdam was made special by our accommodation at this apartment. Bas the owner and his colleague Wilson who met us and took care of our needs made us feel welcome and by the end of the time we felt like friends. The apartment is minutes walking to museums, central station, restaurants and quaint shops.
We loved the apartment and location and will book it another time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al7jj
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is our second stay in the Canal View apartment. The front part consists of a living/dining area in the front and a king-sized bed in the back, while the smaller back room is a kitchen with a bathroom. There is an additional fold-out bed in the front area which we did not pull out or use. The apartment is nicely furnished and the kitchen has everything needed (we ate most of our meals in). The location is quiet but close to the old downtown and the canal ring -- pretty much everything is within walking distance. Taxi service from the airport is included, which is very helpful. The owner is very helpful and the apartment is very well kept. We stayed for two weeks; there was a small maintenance issue partway through the stay and someone was there to fix it within 20 minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view
Liked least: The outside steps are a bit steep for those with disabilities (17th century)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosundeen
la
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great location”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husband and I stayed here 2 weeks in September and October 2016, and it was perfect for us. Size was spacious for a studio (the well supplied kitchen was a separate room) and met our needs. We observed that the Blue Delft apartment below us had a different configuration, with the kitchen opening into the living room (a preferable layout), but we were very happy with our apartment, which had a lovely view of the canal from our dining area. While there was some noise when the inner windows were open (walking above, rattling of pots) that was more than compensated for by the location, the tree lined canal and street, proximity to Nieumarket, Dam Square, restaurants, and tram stops (also metro, which we didn't really use). Of the many apartments that I was considering, this one had two very important features: ground floor (about 5 front steps) and canal location. Bas, the owner, was very entertaining and accommodating, assisting us with operation of all appliances (which included washer and dryer). The only issue was getting access, because of the mixup about key location and we were expecting the manager to be on the premises. Fortunately, the other renters phoned the manager, who arrived within 10 minutes. We appreciated the airport pick up. We would surely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: confusion about getting into the apartment, location of key
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SengaMiln...
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Bright and cheery”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in the Canal View apartment for only one night after spending four in the Delft Blue apartment downstairs and were pleased with our stay. The apartment is bright and welcoming and everything you need for a pleasant stay is provided. Being an old home, there is absolutely no soundproofing so, if you’re a light sleeper, take earplugs If you sleep in the nude, take along a robe as there are no blinds in the hall or kitchen so no privacy when you walk from the living/sleeping area to the bathroom. The bathroom is spacious with a medicine cabinet to hold your toiletries. I found the kitchen table very off-putting as there is a groove all around the table and food has collected in this crevice. There are many decorative pillows and knick-knacks but these all need to be moved and stored when it’s time for bed. There are decorative items on the window ledge but you can’t close the blind unless you move them. The location is great and there are two Albert Heijn supermarkets within a 5 minute walk. 5 minutes to Niewmarkt metro, 20 minute walk to Central Station. We would be happy to stay here again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing