We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful neighbour hood, choose an upstairs room!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Central Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Central Park
Ranked #174 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
South Tyneside
Level Contributor
83 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful neighbour hood, choose an upstairs room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Not much to look at from the front, along a beautiful residential street (window peeking on the way back on a nighttime when the houses are lit up... guilty pleasure!). Tram stop is about 3 mins walk, get off and walk back up to the Apoteek on the corner, turn left, then right and it's the next road on the left, if you go too far you're walking along the side of the lake. A short walk along Waldeck Pyrmontlaan and the hotel is on the right hand side.

Our first night, despite asking for a twin room, we got a double, probably due to our very late check in... room 1... presumably previously an office or storage room one wall away from the reception desk, so we could hear the night staff conversing... but not unduly so not a complaint! The bathroom is VERY small, you have to sit sideways on the toilet and the shower does flood all over the floor, but the next morning the room situation was rectified without a problem as promised, moved on up to the second floor - we could have been in a different hotel! Room with a view - and what a view! Over the lake at the rear of the property, view of the beautiful house directly across the way (did I mention a penchant for window peeking?!) into the to die for kitchen/dining area straight out of house beautiful! Much better bathroom although still cosy! Gorgeous spring foliage on the trees and lovely weather meant we left the french door/window open overnight.

We didn't take advantage of the breakfast room, basic supplies available from reception for water/snacks etc and homemade soup!

For breakfast, sadly not open on Sunday, we stopped for coffee at (I think it was called) City Bakes, over the pavement from your tram stop - great coffee, delicious bakes and tasty sounding breakfast menu, plus books & newspapers. Tram for travelling back up to town is a little further down the road, over the crossroads - and don't be tempted to get the coffee then catch the tram - no drinks allowed! Tram takes about 20mins to get back to Dam station, 10 mins to Leidseplein. On Sunday we walked through the park, stopped for a coffee on Leidseplein then took the tram up to the station to put our luggage into baggage check & head on out into town again before our flight home. The tram cost e12 for 2 days travel on trams/buses.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back on the upper floors with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vbbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    230
    120
    25
    9
See reviews for
49
255
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The pluses: staff friendly and helpful; quiet, safe location within a few blocks of the tram and very close to a large, beautiful park; good breakfast; coffee and other hot beverages available 24x7; good wifi.

The negatives: our room seemed very small for two people with very limited space for luggage or clothing; the bed was extremely soft; the carpeting was stained and "tired." Overall, the hotel did not seem worthy of the three star rating.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The neighborhood that this hotel is in is fantastic. It's quiet and residential, but just a short walk to the tram to take you to busier parts of the city. There is an adorable cafe close by called Coffee and Paste. I highly recommend checking it out. The park and many restaurants/shops are very close. The hotel is nothing special. I did like the french doors. The room is small, even by European standards. It is possible only to walk around the outside of the bed. There isn't room for large luggage, so don't plan on taking any. Also, the bathroom door and the front door conflict with each other, so the bathroom door does not stay open unless held open by a heavy object.
I thought the room was a little pricey for what we got, and I would probably not stay there again unless I had no other options. The room was clean, but I can't imagine that it's difficult to clean such a small room. I will say that the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeeechbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I'm so glad we chose this hotel. Yes, it's a way outside the centre of Amsterdam but there's a regular tram service or a glorious stroll through the Vondelpark - about 20 minutes but it's a lovely walk and there's so much going on that the time just flies. The hotel is situated in a smart, quiet suburb with plenty of great restaurants and cafes on the doorstep. The hotel rooms are small but have everything you need and the bed was really comfy. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel, with a really nice view over the park. The breakfasts were fab and there was so much to choose from. For a quality, budget hotel this really was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahinilkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for four nights while spending most of each day exploring Amsterdam's sights. It was nice to come home to this hotel in a peaceful residential neighborhood and even late at night, I felt safe as a single woman walking back from the nearby tram stop. The front desk staff is very nice and helpful. My room in a third floor corner was quiet and the bed comfortable. TV stations are abundant but I only used that as entertainment when my feet were too tired to walk any further!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julijoyeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Me and my mum stayed here from the 13th April - 17th April 2014. We liked the hotel very much, it is situated in a nice residential area. The tram stop is about a 5 minute walk and bus stops a ten minute walk taking you right into the centre in 5-10 minutes, however we tended to walk up into central Amsterdam through Vondelpark - about a 20 minute walk to Leidesplein but very nice scenery. The rooms were basic but had evrything you need for a city trip when you are hardley in the room, the beds were very comfy and the continental breakfast was great. I would definately recommend this hotel and would stay here again on any future trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#65 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#125 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#152 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park

Property: Hotel Central Park
Address: Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing