We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to the park, close to public transport and center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Central Park
Ranked #163 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Next to the park, close to public transport and center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is situated in a quiet expensive street that ends into the Voldel Park entrance. Within a 6 minutes’ walk you are close to trams lines that bring you right into the center of Amsterdam within 7 minutes. You can also walk through the park which will take you about 15 minutes to cross and then you are at the Leidseplein or the Museum square depending on which exit you take.
The location is perfect if you want to enjoy Amsterdam’s museums or like to wander anround the city.

If you want to go to Amsterdam just to ‘smoke’ then I suggest a cheaper place closer to central station.

Amsterdam hotels in older buildings can really be drab dark places but this is town house converted into a pleasant hotel. It is not designy or trendy but comfortable, clean and not to back dated.

Rooms are on the small side but normal for rooms in Amsterdam. The rooms have big windows and a new bathroom which is small but clean and functional with good water pressure and a warm shower.

Bed is on the small side but comfortable and not too soft.
There is heating and airo in the room.

Breakfast s simple but fresh. Cooked egg, canned fruit, cereals, apples, ham, cheese, yoghurt and pancakes. Bread was fresh and so was the coffee.

The door is managed 24 hours a day and staff was helpful and friendly.

All in all a fine place to stay a day or 3, great location to explore Amsterdam but not in the middle of all of the noise and traffic.

It would take you about 15/20 minutes to get there from Central station by tram and then a 6 minutes walk or about 10 minutes with bus number 15 from train / metro Station Zuid and then also a 6 min walk.

Within 5 minutes’ walk you will find shops, bars and restaurants and the park is only 3 minutes away. The park is a hot spot in the summer and great to spend some time at!

Room Tip: All rooms are oke, ask for a higher floor if you want a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    208
    100
    22
    7
See reviews for
44
218
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely little hotel, clean and nice with great shower and helpful staff. I have stayed in Amsterdam 6 times and this is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in out here. Would recommend as I always stay in budget hotels and I have been stung a few times.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradfordman1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend wanted a cheap city break, after looking at the reviews for this hotel we booked it! Stayed for 4 nights 29th Jan - 3rd February 2014. Yes the room was tiny, but it was also cosy and very clean, room service daily and the bed was super comfy!. Loved that the reception was manned 24hrs a day and they were very helpful and sold snacks for €1 euro! Excellent when you get the munchies but don't want to take a trip to the shops! Beautiful residential area, right next to vondelpark. close to a supermaket and various good food places! We walked into the city daily, it was a good 25 mins walk but we enjoyed the fresh air and surroundings! The tram was only a short walk away if you needed it. Tram 2. The Amsterdam zuid train station was 30 mins walk and was just €5.20 for 2 tickets back to the airport, it was the first stop and a 6 min train journey. I would advise, if your looking to save pennies to take this route home as a taxi was around €37. There is also a tram that runs directly to the station from the city. Loved the hotel. If your not bothered about the room size and location which is slightly out of the centre this is the place to stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank juliebrinkley76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Central Park hotel for 4 nights 21st - 25th jan and after looking at lots of hotels I must say I think we made a good choice, it was a little out of the centre but in a very nice residential area which was quiet and where we felt safe, but just at the top of the street around the corner you can get the no 2 tram which takes 10 mins into the centre for a reasonable price, the hotel is clean, comfortable,warm and we found the staff very friendly and helpful , the continental breakfast was lovely and was adequate until lunch, taxi from reception€35 to the airport good price, on the whole a great time at the Central Park an Amsterdam is a fab place .

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Intervaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went away for a 3 day break to Amsterdam.
I booked this hotel as I read it was great for the price... boy were they correct.
Admittedly its a 8 minute (presice) walk to the tram stop and then a 20 minute tram... however the beauty of this is you can hop off wherever you like... the journeys full of sites and certainly not boring. 24 hour ticket is €10 - well worth buying.
The rooms are small, as I have seen written so many times. They are a lot smaller then I imagined however the scenery, beautiful area and cleanliness of the rooms made up for it.
Staff were friendly and made us feel welcome.
Only thing that took us a whike was finding our hotel. It's in such a gorgeous residential place and not lit up, its very easily missed.

For price - its so perfect for a city break!
Enjoy

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year. We decided to take a taxi from Schipol airport to the hotel, This cost 45 euros and took about 15 minutes.

First impressions of the room was that it was very small but very clean and contained everything we needed. They provided a kettle with a small selection of coffees and teas. TV was included with a variety of English speaking channels such as BBC, MTV and TLC. My boyfriend had trouble falling asleep as he said the mattress was far too soft for him. I found it very comfortable, personal preference I guess.

The hotel is located in a very quiet, residential area. We felt safe staying here. A couple of streets away you will find shops, a small supermarket and takeaways. The reception area also sells a small selection of drinks and snacks.

There are trams and buses nearby, however we tended just to walk into the city centre. Despite it being colder weather while we visiting it was still a very enjoyable walk through Vondel Park to the centre. This took around 20-30 minutes and I found it much more pleasant than taking public transport.

I would recommend this hotel for couples visiting the city for a few days. I think its a little too small to stay for longer or with more people. For us it was the perfect price and perfect location for our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfriendstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The room was fairly small for two people with luggage but was clean and well maintained. There was a nice view towards the park from our 4th level window. Shower and bathroom also quiet ok. The price we paid was competitive with other cheaper places for a Friday and sat night. Not so close to the centrum but at the same time not so far away if you are taking the number 2 tram which leaves 1 block from the hotel. Also the 197 bus is only a 500 metre walk and provides a 4 euro direct trip to the airport. Don't bother taking a taxi or train to the airport..the bus is quicker.

We had an early checkout (6am) and it was very nice that the night receptionist went to the effort of preparing all breakfast early just for us so that we could eat before we left. This was very much appreciated! Will happily return when we visit Amsterdam again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danvan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#127 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park

Property: Hotel Central Park
Address: Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing