We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.”
Review of Hotel Central Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Central Park
Ranked #190 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with my sister in August 2012. We arrived at 10am and although check in was not until 2pm, our room was ready and we were able to check in quickly and be shown our room.
The room was modern, clean, fresh and nicely decorated. The room was extremely small, though this is expected in Amsterdam and it is sufficient for a short stay. Bathroom was lovely, modern, again really small but sufficient. The beds were extremely comfy! From out window we had lovely views of Vondelpark.
However, just because it is on the edge of Vondelpark, does not mean it is central. It is situated in a quiet residential area, a few shops, cafes and bars nearby for breakfast or tea but no good for a lively night out.
We got the bus from the airport and got off at Haarmlestation which was about a 10 min walk from the hotel. There was a tram stop nearby to take you to the centre and all other areas. Was a bit confusing at first but the reception staff are happy to provide you with directions and tram numbers to help.
The tram is fine but should you stay out late you cannot get the tram back as they finish at 12. A taxi from the Leidsplein was 13 euros.
I would stay here again but would prefer to stay more central. I would recommend staying in the Leidsplein area as there is lots to do at night here. However, I found it extremely hard to find a hotel within the centre that did not have terrible, off putting reviews hence why I ended up staying so far out.
This hotel is great though and for a short stay the location is perfectly fine!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esmerelda88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Central Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 498 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

The biggest pro of the hotel is its location. In less than a 5-minutes walk you reach the wonderful Vondelpark as well as a couple of nice restaurants and pubs. The neighborhood is residential and very quite. Almost all Amsterdam attractions are easily reachable by tram or, even better, by bike within 20 minutes.
Well, the hotel has seen better days. In our room, we always had a strange smell that you can only stand with the window open all day and night. A couple of things here and there need a repair. However, all in all our room was clean.
We had a double bed that barely reaches queen size. However, there are rooms with “real” king-size beds. If the size of the bed matters to you, it’s a good idea to check it beforehand.
Stuff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is ok. It offers everything you can expect from a regular continental breakfast, nothing less, nothing more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurtito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Staff very welcoming, efficient, and helpful.
Good location for my visit but a tram ride from the city centre attractions and museums. Not really a problem for me because the trams are frequent and you can get a travel card that covers all the trams and metro at a reasonable price.
My room was small but clean and comfortable and so good value by Amsterdam standards.
The continental breakfast hits the spot, and the free coffee in the dining room during the rest of the day is a nice touch.
The neighbourhood is residential but there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby to choose from as well as the Vondel Park to walk or run off the calories.

Room Tip: Go for a park view if you can get one.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! The staff was SO amazingly nice and helpful! This is a small cozy hotel, though they could use a little help with the cleaning staff. The beds are amazingly soft, we also had three single beds in our room even though we asked for a double bed…not too big of a deal! It is located in a really cool spot right off the Central Park which made for very pretty morning walks to the main parts of Amsterdam. We walked everywhere! My husband and I don’t mind walking, but if you are not a walker then you might want to consider a tram pass or taxi. The walks to the main parts of town are anywhere from 15-30 minutes! We walked all the way to the canal loop which is a significant walk! There are lots of fun restaurants right around the hotel, as well as grocery stores and shopping! If you are coming in from the Amsterdam Central Train Station I would recommend just taking a taxi to the hotel it was only like 20 euros and you got to see a lot of the town! I would also recommend walking around the city, yeah it is long but you can always walk as far as you can and take the tram back. You take Tram #2 and you can just hop on a buy a 24hr day pass on the actual tram which is SUPER convenient! The only cons I can think of for this hotel would be cleanliness (its not DIRTY, its just not sparkly clean either) and stupid people who come in and out and SLAM doors (the doors are VERY heavy and they slam, which is annoying in the middle of the night.) Other than that, this hotel was great and we REALLY enjoyed Amsterdam! Make sure you visit the flower market, the Bulldog Bars in the Red Light District and the Central Park!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iiilucky1iii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Amsterdam is expensive when it comes to hotels. This hotel is located a bit far away from city center, but in 20 minutes you are in the center with the tram. Had a problem with our room but was quickly solved by the very sympathetic staff at reception. Breakfast is paid, and well served. I liked the hotel, but next time will try to find something with a better location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

GOOD: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Once we arrived, they gave us a map and showed us the location of the main attractions of the city. We decided to stay another day and they helped us to reschedule our train tickets and also printed new tickets. The hotel is very close to the Vondelpark and the station Amstelveenseweg (Zeilstraat) of tram line 2. The heating worked well and the bathroom is comfortable. We stayed in a front apartment, but the street is quiet and we heard no noise.
BAD: The bed is very soft. The room is small and it is difficult to keep two bags open at the same time. However, for that price, it's enough to sleep and to take a shower before exploring the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,260 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#159 of 371 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#54 of 371 in Amsterdam
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park

Address: Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $83 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing