We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel stay”
Review of Hotel Central Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Central Park
Ranked #190 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 12, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Central Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 498 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! The staff was SO amazingly nice and helpful! This is a small cozy hotel, though they could use a little help with the cleaning staff. The beds are amazingly soft, we also had three single beds in our room even though we asked for a double bed…not too big of a deal! It is located in a really cool spot right off the Central Park which made for very pretty morning walks to the main parts of Amsterdam. We walked everywhere! My husband and I don’t mind walking, but if you are not a walker then you might want to consider a tram pass or taxi. The walks to the main parts of town are anywhere from 15-30 minutes! We walked all the way to the canal loop which is a significant walk! There are lots of fun restaurants right around the hotel, as well as grocery stores and shopping! If you are coming in from the Amsterdam Central Train Station I would recommend just taking a taxi to the hotel it was only like 20 euros and you got to see a lot of the town! I would also recommend walking around the city, yeah it is long but you can always walk as far as you can and take the tram back. You take Tram #2 and you can just hop on a buy a 24hr day pass on the actual tram which is SUPER convenient! The only cons I can think of for this hotel would be cleanliness (its not DIRTY, its just not sparkly clean either) and stupid people who come in and out and SLAM doors (the doors are VERY heavy and they slam, which is annoying in the middle of the night.) Other than that, this hotel was great and we REALLY enjoyed Amsterdam! Make sure you visit the flower market, the Bulldog Bars in the Red Light District and the Central Park!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iiilucky1iii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Amsterdam is expensive when it comes to hotels. This hotel is located a bit far away from city center, but in 20 minutes you are in the center with the tram. Had a problem with our room but was quickly solved by the very sympathetic staff at reception. Breakfast is paid, and well served. I liked the hotel, but next time will try to find something with a better location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

GOOD: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Once we arrived, they gave us a map and showed us the location of the main attractions of the city. We decided to stay another day and they helped us to reschedule our train tickets and also printed new tickets. The hotel is very close to the Vondelpark and the station Amstelveenseweg (Zeilstraat) of tram line 2. The heating worked well and the bathroom is comfortable. We stayed in a front apartment, but the street is quiet and we heard no noise.
BAD: The bed is very soft. The room is small and it is difficult to keep two bags open at the same time. However, for that price, it's enough to sleep and to take a shower before exploring the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

ok for a 1 night business trip, however the room was quite stark. weirdly 3 single beds in a row and quite hard to sleep on! small but very clean bathroom.
unfortunatley the room smelled strongly of stale beer so not very nice.
breakfast room and food ok, but not a place for a weekend break as rooms very basic.

Room Tip: ask for a double bed!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Knew not to expect too much but it was very small room, very basic facilities and breakfast not worth 10 euros. Having said that being close to Vondel Park on a sunny day is just great.You can pick up a tram close by or i feeling brave you can hire a bike from hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cheznobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet suburban area of Amsterdam, close to Vondel Park. The room was small but clean and comfortable, with a modern well-equipped en suite. The stairs are quite steep and narrow but there is a small lift. The staff we met were polite and helpful with excellent English. There was a kettle in the room, and we were invited to help ourselves to tea bags etc from the breakfast room when we used up our supplies. There are plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance, but we found prices were generally high with main courses costing around 20 euros per person. There is a computer in the reception area which we were able to use to check the weather forecast.

Room Tip: Our room was quite small, so if you like plenty of room you may want to ask for one of the larger ro...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGrey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,260 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#159 of 371 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#55 of 371 in Amsterdam
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park

Address: Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $82 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing