We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yikes”
Review of Sharm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sharm Hotel
Ranked #199 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It wasn't dirty...
We didn't book prior to getting to Amsterdam, just figured we would find something once we got there. Bad Idea. We spent 100 Euro for a room you couldn't pass each other in. I had to crawl over my husband to get to the bed, the bathroom was the size of a closet - sitting on the toilet you could kiss the sink (not that you would want to lol but you get the point) - the shower was also in this small closet but separated by a curtain so as not to get the toilet wet. The sheets were old as was the furniture/furnishings, the tv was the size of an ipad, nowhere to put clothes or bags. To get there you have to climb are very steep and numerous. I counted but cannot remember at this point. A nice walk to the Dam Square (Madam Tussaud's) - maybe 5 minutes. And they only took cash or else they charge 10%+ to use cards.

Room Tip: There's got to be something better for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ela M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

If your looking just for a place to sleep this is perfect as I don't like to spend any time in the hotel as it is pretty basic but to a good standard. About 200 meters from dam square and all the action!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ricci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Seems like they're trying, but don't have a clue about running a hotel. Clean and with a good location, but things like hot water and wifi didn't work. Service and price was a total disaster. I would never go back there - unless I got a really REALLY good price.

Room Tip: The street is noisy, try to get a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Having read a few negative reviews I was a little worried arriving at this hotel. However, the man at reception was extremely friendly and polite which put me at ease straight away.

The rooms are not fancy or 5 star, but ours was clean, spacious enough for 2 of us and had a lovely view out the back of the building. Our shower was fantastic and overall we had a great stay here, especially as all we really needed was a place to sleep. Also, the hotel was being renovated while we were there (this didn't inconvenience us at all) and could mean the standard has improved recently?

Hotel prices in Amsterdam seem to be extremely high in general, and this hotel was comparatively very cheap, but with a brilliant location and decent, clean rooms.

Overall we had a great 3 nights in this hotel and would come back no problem.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rona18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bee N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#102 of 372 in Amsterdam
4,014 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Acostar Hotel
Acostar Hotel
#160 of 338 in Amsterdam
561 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#97 of 338 in Amsterdam
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#60 of 338 in Amsterdam
505 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#189 of 338 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#74 of 338 in Amsterdam
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 33 B, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $96 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sharm Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sharm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing