We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience but crowded”

Canal Tours Amsterdam
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.40*
and up
Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There’s nothing like seeing Amsterdam from the water! Canal Tours Amsterdam organises distinctive and innovative programmes on and around the Amsterdam canals. With a diversity of products – including Pedal Boats, Hop On Hop Off Boat, Open Boat Tours and Dining Cruises. Canal Tours Amsterdam is a brand of Stromma Group.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Nice experience but crowded”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The one hour canal cruise was worth doing but I'm not sure how much difference there was between companies. The information provided was given in multiple languages. Seats were comfortable but the boat was crowded- go early to get a window seat. I noticed that some of the other boats were open on top, as opposed to the Holland boat, which would have been better than taking pictures through a window.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    459
    201
    93
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well worth doing at night.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Loved the Canal Cruise. You really can't go to Amsterdam without doing it. Make sure and bring a blanket or extra clothes with you if you're going in Winter/ Spring as it gets pretty cold. Found this company the best to deal with. So professional!! Better off doing it at night as there's so much else you can only do during the day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EbbieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to see the city”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We went on the 100 sights canal boat tour of amsterdam on Tuesday 19th February. The cost was 14 euro per adult and 7euro for our 4 year old daughter. Our hotel had given us vouchers which saved us 3euro per ticket so the entire cost for the three of us was 26euro which I thought was very good value. The tour lasted for one hour and took us from Amsterdam Harbour and then through the cities canal system. There was a commentary in dutch, german and english which was helpful in pointing out all of the key atttactions. Despite it being a freezing cold day it was warm and cosy onboard the boat. The staff were pleasant and helpful. A great experience and a fantastic way to see the city!

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Amsterdam is all about canals, so what's the best way to see the city? Walking, of course - same as Venice. Get down the side streets, cross the canals on quiet bridges, admire the architecture and the culture up close. The second best way? Take a canal cruise. Very relaxing, and you will stay warm on cold days in the covered boats. Holland International was ok as an operator, except they played an "open" audio tour in 4 languages and you have to way patiently for everyone else's bits before you get to yours. If you can get a tour company that gives you an audio tour through headphones just in your language, go for that - possibly more to learn

Helpful?
1 Thank giffnockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended birthday treat”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I always try and do something memorable on my birthday and following some decent reviews I decided to book a dinner cruise prior to our Amsterdam break.
I have to admit it was a good choice, one is always a bit wary of tourist dinner type packages, especially at over £60 a head, but the quality of the meal was really very good and following a preseco the wine flowed more or less seamlessly throughout the evening. Pea cappuccino was a first for me.
It wasn't cold on the boat, even though it was February and seeing the evening lights of Amsterdam was a nice way to do the canal cruise.
Staff were efficient and polite, so all in all thoroughly recommended and for me it was a delightful way to mark my 60th birthday

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank midget73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Tours Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Canal Tours Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing