We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great mid afternoon snack” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pancakes Amsterdam

Pancakes Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 103 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: We welcome you at Pancakes Amsterdam! Pancakes Amsterdam is established in 2007. Almost ten years later we have three location. The first one is situated in the famous Nine Streets. This is were Pancakes Amsterdam has started! The second location is near Amsterdam central station and the third one is our newest location and is situated next to Anna Frank House and Westerkerk. Come and visit one of our location and enjoy the tastiest Dutch pancakes and American pancakes! We hope to see you soon!
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Great mid afternoon snack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere, very cozy. Crepes and pancakes and coffee and hot chocolate were all amazing! We went on a Friday afternoon and it wasn't overly busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ggstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    885
    622
    168
    52
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pancakes! Amsterdam is a very small, lovely pancake restaurant. They have so many great choices, from more traditional to adventurous. (Banana and bacon...)

We had no trouble walking in and getting a table during the offseason (September) but our server did forget to put our order in. When we asked about it a while later, she was very apologetic and brought us some free fresh-squeezed orange juice, as we waited. The food was good, and the apple pancake was definitely my favorite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average pancakes.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Extremely packed. If you want to eat at this place make sure you get there early. The tourists in teh city flock to this place to get a taste of Dutch and American pancakes. If you´re really into pacakes then you might as well check it out. If not, it´s really not a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty Pancakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Tiny cafe with around 10 tables so be prepared to have to wait for a table. Great service and excellent pancakes

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Deelicious.. Watch out for the spice! ;)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had to try some dutch pancakes whilst in the 'dam! So went to this place. The pancakes were honestly amazing and the combinations were crazy! Banana, bacon and chill?! Oh I had to have one!

My partner had a beautiful apple pancake. Perfection.

Even after we were finished we were still enticed by the beautiful creations being delivered around us. One couple opposite us ordered traditional american stacked pancakes. I don't think I could stop staring!!!

One word of caution, the chilli will blow your head off - you've been warned!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancakes Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pancakes Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing