We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amstel Riverview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amstel Riverview
Ranked #125 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Perfect for what we needed- cheap enough, clean and nicely decorated rooms, friendly staff, great location. Room was bright and airy. Shared facilities (kitchen and bathrooms) kept very clean. A lot of stairs up to the guesthouse though so might not be suitable for elderly etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank Bs1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
13
49
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Amstel Riverview is a value hotel with lovely views across the Amstel River. The rooms are quite good, but be warned some rooms are better than others. You are greeted by a steep flight of stairs to the second floor, which is of course commonplace in Amsterdam. The reception area is not manned but the receptionist is available if needed.The two front rooms on this floor are totally different, our favourite, which is very comfortable is known as 'K2'. It opens out onto a kitchen area, which is quite handy for that last minute coffee.
The hotel is worth considering if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river on the second floor. Room K2 the better of the two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

It's in a nice quiet part of Amsterdam and our room looked onto the back courtyard gardens which is a pleasant view. The rooms are OK but walls are paper thin and our room was just dull Bathrooms and kitchen were clean but lots of queuing on a weekend to get access to the bathroom. The stairs are very steep so beware but standard to Amsterdam. You could do worse but it's nothing special and impossible to find the staff at check out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrenaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were looking for a place to spend a few nights in Amsterdam. The prices if hostels and guesthouses are sky-high. While feeling hopeless, we stumbled upon Amstel RiverView. Their website is impressive borderline too good to be true. The frontdesk person was very warm and helpful. He even offered to carry the luggage of my female friend to our room which is on the 3rd floor. We were assigned to a room on the opposite side of the building so we didnt have the riverview-view.

The location strategic. A tram station is just around the corner of the entire block.

Room Tip: No elevator. Steep stairs. You've been warned. aside from that everything is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice rooms, clean shared bathroom, toilet and kitchen. Situated in a nice quiet part of Amsterdam but still very close to city centre. Lovely view onto the amstel river. Would definitely reccomend. Only downside is that there are lots of stairs but that is to be expected in many hostels in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

+ very warm reception and helpful staf
+ good location near to the old city center
+ nice view on the Amstel river

- we got very small room that was too small for a couple with small baby - I haven;t checked though if there was a possibility to change it for a bigger
- furnirures rather very old and shabby
- bed dirty and old (however bedding ok - too strong smell of detergents though)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meditteraneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I found the Amstel View on the Internet by chance when booking a few nights in Amsterdam. The price was really reasonable and it had generally high reviews on trip advisor. When we got to the hotel I was so happy I had booked. The shared bathrooms and rooms are pretty much spotless. When I got into my comfy bed I could smell the freshness of the sheets and it was brilliant having a well stocked tea and coffee supply in the kitchen next door. And the view from my room was just amazing. The owner (sorry, I didn't catch his name) was so helpful, as with all the Dutch people I have spoken to, nothing was a problem for him. When we arrived he spent a good while discussing the city with us and helping us with transport arrangements. We were so impressed we decided to book a room for another night. When we arrived back we were given a room at the top of the house and it was beautifully furnished. The room and the bathroom were spotless again! The bed was comfy and again the sheets smelt freshly laundered. The view was unbelievable!!!!! The area was ideal for us as we were a short tram journey away from dam square and the bars, but far enough away so we were able to get a quiet night sleep. If your looking for clean, comfy and friendly accommodation that doesn't cost the earth this is the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keefe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#120 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#268 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#249 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#37 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#161 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#69 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Riverview

Property: Amstel Riverview
Address: Amsteldijk 22 II, 1074 HS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amstel Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing