We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sixty Six Stairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Riverview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amstel Riverview
Ranked #131 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Sixty Six Stairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Using a tram from Amsterdam Centraal (Eu 2.70), and following the directions given on Hostelworld, I found the place easy to get to. We were very disappointed to be shown to a double room (on the 2nd floor) when I had specifically booked a twin room some 5 months before.No river view despite the name, but not complaining as the view over the apartments surrounding a gardened area at the back was actually very calming. Shared bathroom, toilet, kitchen area and washing facilities on this floor.The second night we were moved to a twin room on the 3rd floor (66 steps up a steep, skinny stair case), still overlooking the garden. This twin room was much larger, with coffee/tea making facilities in our room, and only 2 rooms sharing the toilet and shower (much smaller than on the 2nd floor but I'd rather the larger room). The coffee machine and coffee suplied as part of the deal was actually very nice, but some instructions on using the machine would be good! Although some distance from Amsterdam Centraal, there are several tram stops nearby, and they are easy to use with a purchased ticket (which BTW can be bought when you get on board and lasts an hour so you can use it more than once). But back to the Amstel Riverview, Anglelito, the staff member we dealt with, bent over backwards to be helpful. Even folding our dried laundry which we had left to put in the dryer (although no curfew for people there is for laundry-10pm!)
See also my review on Bloemers located nearby.

Room Tip: Third floor top back room (twin) was much larger than the one we first had on the second floor (doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geromam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
12
48
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Not too easy to get to as the public transition is a little bit confusing over there. Super nice host. Our room has a nice view of the backyard. And you can cook by yourself there. However, the shared bathroom is dirty. The couple who were staying on the other side of the hallway talked soooo loud and had fight that night... not very cool...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickyctian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

- Nice river view
- Tiny room with no place for luggage
- wifi
- lumpy twin mattresses pushed together to make a king
- many steep steps which is characteristic of Amsterdam but is still unnerving
- nice decor in rooms

If you are looking for a hostel, then this is the place for you. If you are looking for more of a bed-and breakfast than I suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the river view although the room is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeyaEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

amazing view of the river, check. beautiful interiors, check. comfy bed, check. very clean, check. nice location, check. great places to shop or dine nearby, check. complete kitchen facilities, check. complimentary, great-tasting coffee, check. large LCD TV with cable, check. free hi-speed wifi, check. good security, check. peaceful neighborhood, check. no curfew, check. friendly staff, check. transport link nearby, check. just too much great stuff for a budget place. what more do we need?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank azian4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I returned back to this place after more than a year. It is well taken care of. Still a great place to stay with a stunning view of the Amstel river and great value for money! Clean, nicely decorated rooms and they replaced the tv's by nice new flatscreen tv's. What I mostly like here is the free coffee (senseo) and the free wifi, which is so important to me. The staff is lovely. Next time I'll go back here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This place was wonderful. it's overlooking the Amstel Canal, and in the Southern Canal Belt. It was extremely clean - the bathrooms were prestine, and the tub was huge. the kitchenette has free tea and coffee, working everything and again, very clean. the beds were comfortable, and looked exactly like the pictures on the website. Very quiet, and great for couples. not for young people who want to party and meet new people.
very safe, free wifi, recpetionist lives upstairs for 24 hr service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHICKINESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Despite being initially daunted by the need to climb a VERY steep staircase to get to the accommodation, we were impressed by this hotel. Our twin room was clean and bright and had a lovely balcony that caught the evening sun, overlooking the canal - impressive given the price of the room (about £30 pppn, cheap by Amsterdam standards). The shared bathroom was very clean too and well-equipped, the separate toilet useful, and the free coffee always available in the kitchen a lovely bonus the morning after a heavy 'Amsterdam evening'. There's a fridge and a little hot plate, so you could feasibly do some food preparation (supermarkets within 5 minute walk) although less than 10 minutes away by foot is Utrechtstraat which has some cool cafes, bars and restaurants, so we tended to eat out. The main tourist centre is a little far away, a 20 minute walk or so, but it's safe, well-lit and there's some pretty bridges to cross and plenty of interesting bars to stop off at on the way.

There is some traffic noise from the fairly busy road below if you have the balcony doors open, but that didn't bother us; and the house next door is being refurbished at the moment so there was some drilling at 8.30am, but again, this was a small downside and didn't impact on our enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpainJpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#253 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#111 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#120 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#38 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#246 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#67 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Riverview

Property: Amstel Riverview
Address: Amsteldijk 22 II, 1074 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amstel Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing