We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good neighborhood so so place”
Review of Amstel Riverview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amstel Riverview
Ranked #156 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Not too easy to get to as the public transition is a little bit confusing over there. Super nice host. Our room has a nice view of the backyard. And you can cook by yourself there. However, the shared bathroom is dirty. The couple who were staying on the other side of the hallway talked soooo loud and had fight that night... not very cool...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vickyctian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 120 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

- Nice river view
- Tiny room with no place for luggage
- wifi
- lumpy twin mattresses pushed together to make a king
- many steep steps which is characteristic of Amsterdam but is still unnerving
- nice decor in rooms

If you are looking for a hostel, then this is the place for you. If you are looking for more of a bed-and breakfast than I suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the river view although the room is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeyaEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

amazing view of the river, check. beautiful interiors, check. comfy bed, check. very clean, check. nice location, check. great places to shop or dine nearby, check. complete kitchen facilities, check. complimentary, great-tasting coffee, check. large LCD TV with cable, check. free hi-speed wifi, check. good security, check. peaceful neighborhood, check. no curfew, check. friendly staff, check. transport link nearby, check. just too much great stuff for a budget place. what more do we need?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank azian4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I returned back to this place after more than a year. It is well taken care of. Still a great place to stay with a stunning view of the Amstel river and great value for money! Clean, nicely decorated rooms and they replaced the tv's by nice new flatscreen tv's. What I mostly like here is the free coffee (senseo) and the free wifi, which is so important to me. The staff is lovely. Next time I'll go back here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This place was wonderful. it's overlooking the Amstel Canal, and in the Southern Canal Belt. It was extremely clean - the bathrooms were prestine, and the tub was huge. the kitchenette has free tea and coffee, working everything and again, very clean. the beds were comfortable, and looked exactly like the pictures on the website. Very quiet, and great for couples. not for young people who want to party and meet new people.
very safe, free wifi, recpetionist lives upstairs for 24 hr service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHICKINESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Despite being initially daunted by the need to climb a VERY steep staircase to get to the accommodation, we were impressed by this hotel. Our twin room was clean and bright and had a lovely balcony that caught the evening sun, overlooking the canal - impressive given the price of the room (about £30 pppn, cheap by Amsterdam standards). The shared bathroom was very clean too and well-equipped, the separate toilet useful, and the free coffee always available in the kitchen a lovely bonus the morning after a heavy 'Amsterdam evening'. There's a fridge and a little hot plate, so you could feasibly do some food preparation (supermarkets within 5 minute walk) although less than 10 minutes away by foot is Utrechtstraat which has some cool cafes, bars and restaurants, so we tended to eat out. The main tourist centre is a little far away, a 20 minute walk or so, but it's safe, well-lit and there's some pretty bridges to cross and plenty of interesting bars to stop off at on the way.

There is some traffic noise from the fairly busy road below if you have the balcony doors open, but that didn't bother us; and the house next door is being refurbished at the moment so there was some drilling at 8.30am, but again, this was a small downside and didn't impact on our enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpainJpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The Amstel Riverview was a lovely place to stay, nice rooms with a safe, TV (1 English channel CNN), free WiFi and in our case a great view of the Amstel River. All the rooms are twin but the owner is happy to make the base into a double by pushing the two together and adding an extra double mattress. There is also access to the kitchen, with unlimited tea/coffee and the shared bathroom facilities are practically brand new, with towels replenished daily.

It was really easy to find the hotel using the advice on their website (Tram 4 or 25 from the train station to Cientuurban, turn right at Febo snack bar, walk to the river and the hotel is 3 doors up on the left. It was a 5-10 walk in a lovely area.
The trams ride was about 10-15 minutes depending on traffic/time of day and we never had to wait more than 10 mins for one.

The Amstel Riverview was great value, clean and welcoming in a city where accomodation is not cheap and we would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#250 of 338 in Amsterdam
20 reviews
I Hotel
#208 of 338 in Amsterdam
4 reviews
De Pijp
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
#73 of 338 in Amsterdam
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 338 in Amsterdam
223 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Acostar Hotel
Acostar Hotel
#142 of 338 in Amsterdam
570 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#32 of 338 in Amsterdam
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Riverview

Address: Amsteldijk 22 II, 1074 HS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $86 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amstel Riverview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Amstel Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing