We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We will be back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Corner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amstel Corner
Ranked #166 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Wow! Had a wonderful stay here and look forward to returning soon! We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, and it was absolutely beautiful.. Everything was perfect. The bed was amazingly comfortable (tv comes out of the bottom of the bed - which I really liked!), the bathroom was stunning (no expense spared!), lovely little balcony overlooking the canal, and other things like the coffee machine, ipod dock, wifi, and a welcoming bottle of champagne were a bonus! It is a peaceful, relaxing, intimate hotel, and we were warmly welcomed by Fokko - the owner.

We hope to see you again soon! Thank you Fokko!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollilol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    26
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Amstel Corner is a small guesthouse with four rooms. There are 2 or 3 quite steep staircases to climb, depending on which room you take. They were okay for us but might be worth considering for those with less mobility. The owner Fokko was absolutely lovely. He lives in the house itself on the lower floors.

Our party occupied 3 rooms, the Duke Suite, Honeymoon Room and Play Room. All rooms had toiletries and towels provided, and were decorated beautifully. There was free WIFI. The beds were also super comfortable! The Honeymoon Room was lovely with a really pretty bathroom and a microwave, fridge and coffee machine. It also had a balcony which looked over the canal, and a radio/iPod dock and TV.

The Play Room was on the top floor. This room was smaller than the other two but nonetheless well equipped. A hob, microwave, coffee machine and fridge is provided, along with pots and pans and dining equipment.

The Duke Suite has two beds and a sofa bed. We found the sofa bed a bit uncomfortable so it might be worth instead requesting the extra full bed which costs 35euro per night if you find this important. This room had all the amenities of the Play Room, along with a dining table and chairs and a combination oven.

There was a supermarket handily located about 2 mins walk from the hotel, which meant we were able to conveniently cook in the apartment. Great for people on a budget, especially since it can be hard to find good restaurants in Amsterdam.

The hotel was just outside the real center of the city. It was about 15 mins walk to Leisdeplein, and 25 to Centraal Station. Trams were very frequent during the day, but we should have really asked the owner the best way to get back in the evening as the trams stop around 12. There was little noise from the street, although we found that if we left the doors open in the rooms sound carried across the rooms quite easily. With the doors shut this was no problem.

Amstel Corner is a guesthouse rather than a hotel, so don't expect that level of service. Our group found it a much better experience staying at Amstel Corner rather than the previous hotels we've stayed at in Amsterdam. We felt welcomed by the owner, and the uniqueness of the rooms as well as staying in a real house on a canal added to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shelby52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel is beautiful. Fokko the owner was extremely personable and helpful. We felt very welcomed upon our arrival. The bed was a dream to sleep on and the bathroom was absouletly georgeous. Very quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Ok, cant make up my mind whether this is a good place to stay, or not - Fokko the owner is a friendly chap on arrival, but then you never see him! Our room (The Dream Room) was very very small and the bathroom miniscule - its a good job my partner and I aren't big people because there is literally no room to turn round! The plus points is that it is very laid back (like the rest of Amsterdam!) but on the downside there is no room cleaning done whilst you are there - the room smelled of old smoke (theres no non smoking rules obviously) and the duvet was obviously old and a bit too thin! We liked the small kitchenette facility in the room but this was housed in a huge cupboard which then made the room feel so cramped. It was ok but certainly not as special as it looks in the photos and certainly not as cheap as I think it should have been. - 100 Euros a night is a bit excessive for what you get. Amsterdam is a fabulous place (must be even nicer if the sun shines!) and we will go back but wouldnt stay at Amstel Corner again - there's lots of other, more central, places to stay where you would probably get more space and facilities for your Euros!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadabout56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#64 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#162 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#89 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner

Property: Amstel Corner
Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly hotel in the heart of Amsterdam provides tasteful luxurious studios and rooms along a beautiful Amsterdam canal. " In 1870s it was the site where the Amstel Corner is now housed, a large water where the Amstel river ran through. The inner harbor was called Amstel Haven. " On 16th of April 2004, the current owner purchased the property and rebuild the inside to fit modern living. The following years a hotel license 2012 was applied for and obtained and the Amstel Corner hotel was born and the rest remains History." You are assured of a warm welcome at the Amstel Corner hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amstel Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing