We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice location, nice room but not faultless!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Corner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amstel Corner
Ranked #165 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice room but not faultless!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Amstel Corner over bank holiday weekend. I booked the dream suite which was very clean. The beds were changed each day etc. I did specify on an email that I wanted a double bed and not two twins pushed together however I had two pushed together. The room lacked wardrobe space, so we were living out of our suitcases for the stay. I didn't really find the pull out kitchen useful... Some people might I suppose!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    26
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My partner and I stayed in Amstel Corner guest house for the Easter weekend 2014. The guest house is in a good, quiet location, about 20 minutes walk from Dam Square. If you prefer to take the tram or metro, aroung, you can, just a few minutes walk from the guest house.

The guest house itself is clean and nicely decorated. Our room was a good size and had everything you want in a room. The two things I usually miss from home are a decent shower and a comfortable bed, our room, I'm pleased to say, had both.

The owner Fokko is a very pleasant guy, I like his little touches of mini chocolate eggs in the hallway, porridge sachets in kitchenette etc.

I really do not have anything to complain about, If I go back to Amsterdam, I'd definitely consider staying here again

Thank you Fokko

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelindaCPFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel from the 4th-6th March in the honeymoon suite and absolutely loved it. The hotel was spotless & had everything you needed such as tea & coffee, hair dryer & even an iron! Also had Apple TV, modern radio & Netflix to watch any film you liked.
The bathroom was gorgeous with a free standing tub, lovely big bed overall such a beautiful room with a perfect view out of the balcony!
The owner met us on our very late arrival & showed us everything, he even bought me a bottle of champagne for my 21st birthday! Such a lovely gentleman!
Check out was easy & we will definitely be returning this year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaJade O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at the Amstel Corner hotel this weekend for 3 nights and cannot speak highly enough of the place.

On arrival at the airport we followed the instructions from our booking and got on the train to Amsterdam Central station (4 euro each) and then got on the tram to the hotel (about another 4 euro). On arrival at the hotel we were met by Fokko (the owner) who helped carry our luggage up to the Duke suite on the top floor.

The stairs have been mentioned before and are killer but you start to get used to them and we just carried out heels down and put them on in the porch as they are very steep and narrow.

The room was beautifully clean and the bathroom is amazing with a huge shower. The kitchen area had all the essentials for cooking and the tv is HUGE and has netflix and Apple TV!! Also there is a lidl just across the road which had everything in for breakfasts, lunches and toiletries.

The hotel is in a fabulous location with a lovely market across the road (and to the right) with spices, chocolates and trinkets and only a 20-25 minute amble to the Van Gogh museum and the Bols experience which is great fun.

The red light district is only a 16 euro can ride away and the gay district is again a 14 euro cab ride away. We had an amazing night in the gay district after eating at Rosas Cantina we went to club solo and danced until the wee hours.

There was some confusion with the price before we arrived but this was sorted in a few days and also on our last morning there was an engineer in fixing the hot water so there was a bit of noise but nothing to really complain about and he was very polite.

Only complaint would be that you are very much left to your own devices so when we realised out adapter wasn't working on the first night we emailed Fokko asking whether he had one or knew where we could get one but we never received a response.

That being said I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking to see the less tacky side of Amsterdam as this hotel is amazing value for money and just out of the way encough to feel like you are seeing the real Amsterdam. I would definately recommend doing your homework so you don't end up just doing the touristy things and missing out on all the lovely little streets, markets and other more appealing attractions.

Would come again :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peony23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just got back from Amstel Corner and had a fab stay in this lovely hotel. Stayed in Dream Room on the 2nd floor. Nice big windows overlooking gardens at back and really cute & cosy. Kitchen in a cupboard was a highlight!!! Owners are great and more than happy to help you out. My bf proposed while we were there and Fokko (owner) got us champagne and flowers in the room. Just perfect :) took about 30 mins to walk into town but Lidl just across the way for supplies and Rembrandtsplein pretty close by. Would defo recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasminruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed there in the honeymoon suite.
The room overlooks the canal, is very spacious, elegant and beutifully decorated.
It was GREAT.
Service was excellent also.
Location is 20 minutes walking distance from the DAM square.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Uriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#161 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#62 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#157 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#113 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#137 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#86 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner

Property: Amstel Corner
Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly hotel in the heart of Amsterdam provides tasteful luxurious studios and rooms along a beautiful Amsterdam canal. " In 1870s it was the site where the Amstel Corner is now housed, a large water where the Amstel river ran through. The inner harbor was called Amstel Haven. " On 16th of April 2004, the current owner purchased the property and rebuild the inside to fit modern living. The following years a hotel license 2012 was applied for and obtained and the Amstel Corner hotel was born and the rest remains History." You are assured of a warm welcome at the Amstel Corner hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amstel Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing