We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Honeymoon suite was sweet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Corner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amstel Corner
Ranked #166 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon suite was sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay at Amstel Corner, fully recommend Honeymoon suite; wet room, king size bed, and pretty room fabulous. Hosts very friendly and welcoming. We'll definately come back and stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    26
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived early at the hotel and were able to be checked in straight away. The hotel room was lovely and very clean. It had the added bonus of a little kitchen area. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved Amstel Corner which is a small place with a few rooms, more of a boarding house (but with a privacy you do not normally get in a B&B) than a hotel - no front desk etc.. Our room was on the top floor with nice views over a canal and was very quiet as we were so high up. The room was very large indeed with a stunning variety of lighting. Lights in every corner for every mood!; with a dimmer or switch or two thrown in. The room had a whole bunch of things such as cooker, fridge, CD player, coffee machine, as well as the usual TV, free wi-fi etc. The decor was excellent and had a personal ambience about it rather than a chain hotel feel. A big window and a skylight gives a lot of natural light, although that is limited in the dark north European winter. The bathroom is small but modern and is very well designed to maximise space.
The location, although just outside the very centre of Amsterdam, is excellent, just a few minutes walk from busy and interesting Utreschstraat, A few minutes along Utrechtstraat takes you you to Rembrandtsplein. The less energetic can get a tram to Rembrandts or right into Dam Square. Amstel Corner is wonderful value in expensive Amsterdam, but beware of the steep stairs if you are not too fit or have a lot of luggage.
We love being in the heart of a city (preferably close to the main station) but on our next visit to Amsterdam we intend returning to Amstel Corner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soulsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in the Dream Room for 5 nights. It was absolutely lovely! The room itself is quite small but perfectly formed. Not much space for hanging and storing clothes but we were fine with that! The bed is huge and very comfy with a memory foam mattress. It is two single beds pushed together but it wasn't a problem really.The sink, hob and fridge are neatly hidden in a big cupboard with all the utensils you could need to make light meals should you wish to. There was a coffee machine and special coffee bags so you can make yourself a nice fresh coffee. Flat screen TV and CD player.

The bathroom is very small but done to a high standard with a lovely glass sink and glass cube wall seperating the shower. I would say that if you are on the larger side you would not feel comfortable in this bathroom as it would be a very tight squeeze indeed! (I understand the other rooms are much bigger).

Fokko was really nice and welcoming. The lady who cleaned our room did a wonderful job. There is no reception or anything like that so you are left to your own devices which is exactly what we wanted. If you need anything though then Fokko is more than happy to help and just a phone call away.

The only thing I would mention is that the towels were cleaned every day which I didn't think was necessary as I'm used to using a towel more than once and think it's more environmentally friendly to re-use a few times.

The hotel is in walking distance of many nice bars and restaurants. We like to walk so we didn't catch the tram at any point but there is tram stop just up the road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CA_hapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

POSITIVE: The size of the room is decent compare to the other hotels which are only 10sqm2. The area is very quiet so we slept very well at night. the room is very clean and is kept clean everyday by the housekeeper. Service wise is very pleasant- the housekeeper MARIA helped us bring our bags into our room- gave us free maps and gave us a few spots to shop. The hotel is only 3min walk away from the tram which can basically take you to Dam square/Centraal Station. WIFI was very strong in our room. Lots of equipment in the kitchen area and towels in the bathroom was replaced daily.

NEGATIVE: There was no lifts and we were on the top level- and the stairs were very steep and narrow! Be careful and don't rush climbing up/down the stairs or you will truly trip and fall. Otherwise no other complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Jobelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed 9 days in this place and I really enjoyed it: Large beds & excellent mattresses, clean room, excellent free wifi, beautiful and functional curtains, good temperature regulation (very fast warm). I will definitely book this place again.

Room Tip: Bathroom of the Dream Room is small but functional; the room as a practical kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltheunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend at the end of September, we were both excited by the reviews and the hotel didnt quite live up to the billing.
The welcome was brusque and short, there was confusion on how to pay and we had to ask a couple of times to be talked through a map and where we could get food at 9pm (as we had arrived late evening).
There were a few minor issues with the room, nothing major, but just detracted from the hotel.
It's well located and we enjoyed the trips (especially the canals) and eventually saw Fokko again as we were leaving for the airport.
Maybe it just wasnt for us

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpoonsNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#64 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#162 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#89 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner

Property: Amstel Corner
Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly hotel in the heart of Amsterdam provides tasteful luxurious studios and rooms along a beautiful Amsterdam canal. " In 1870s it was the site where the Amstel Corner is now housed, a large water where the Amstel river ran through. The inner harbor was called Amstel Haven. " On 16th of April 2004, the current owner purchased the property and rebuild the inside to fit modern living. The following years a hotel license 2012 was applied for and obtained and the Amstel Corner hotel was born and the rest remains History." You are assured of a warm welcome at the Amstel Corner hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amstel Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing