We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location, Awful Hotel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Acostar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acostar Hotel
Ranked #239 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Awful Hotel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you don't care where you crash and want to be next to a coffee shop and a club that stays open all night, this is the place for you! It's a great location and friendly staff, I'll give them that, but the rooms are so small you can barely get the bed into it. Definitely not for a family or if you want to sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garrickfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    143
    133
    68
    63
See reviews for
24
234
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We've recently stayed in the acostar. The staff seemed to be friendly enough. The room size was allright, not the biggest but we did not have the highest expectations.
Locationwise one of the bests! Everything is just a minute away.
Stairs can be exhausting after a long day of having fun :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank norbertvonpolyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I wasn´t expecting much from a low-cost hotel but the rooms really were tiny and the carpets were all stained (I dread to think what with!). No lift and we had a room on the 4th floor. The stairwell smellt stale and smoky despite the fact that smoking is forbidden in the hotel.
Definitely don´t go there with children as it´s next to a sex shop and opposite a kinky gay club.
The only good thing about it was the fact that you can easily walk there to most places.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentina2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Elliniko, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

It is close to shops, supermarkets, restaurants and pubs! it's a walking destination the city centre and the museum square if you are used to walking!
our room was not too big, but for two it was ok! the bathroom was perfect! they changed the towels everyday and they gave us soap and showergel as much as we wanted everyday! Friday night was a bit loud the streets around, but i guess that's happening all over the city!!
will be back for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice hotel,staff nice and helpful,hotel in a good location,plenty of restaurants around,room a bit small but that wasn't a problem as I used it only for sleeping,nice powerful shower,tv with good few channels. Very comfy bed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaals, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location is perfect but the room was tiny. The room our friends stayed in was even tinier! They couln't even walk around the bed. We stayed for one night only, so we didn't have any luggage. But there's no place for a suitcase! Wen we arrived it was very hot in the room. We opened a window but you could't leave it open at night because of the noise. The modern bathroom was ok but the smell wasn't... Breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrils, Spain
Level Contributor
178 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The rooms very but very dirty. There was mosquitos smashed on the walls. The rooms stinks.
The receptionist didn't have any idea whatsoever about places, directions, etc.
The internet doesn't work at all in the room.
The worst thing of the hotel was that they didn't change the towels. I went downstairs to ask in a nice way to do it when I was going out all day to visit the city. My surprise when i came back that they didn't change it. I asked again and the receptionist didn't do anything.
I would never recommend it at all not even for the price cause it was expensive.
Just one thing is good wich is the location

Room Tip: Please keep searching. Trust me this is not quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drmuelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#285 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#257 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#272 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#301 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#187 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Property: Acostar Hotel
Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acostar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing