We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everything bad. The worst hotel experience that i've ever had” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Acostar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acostar Hotel
Ranked #231 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Cambrils, Spain
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Everything bad. The worst hotel experience that i've ever had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The rooms very but very dirty. There was mosquitos smashed on the walls. The rooms stinks.
The receptionist didn't have any idea whatsoever about places, directions, etc.
The internet doesn't work at all in the room.
The worst thing of the hotel was that they didn't change the towels. I went downstairs to ask in a nice way to do it when I was going out all day to visit the city. My surprise when i came back that they didn't change it. I asked again and the receptionist didn't do anything.
I would never recommend it at all not even for the price cause it was expensive.
Just one thing is good wich is the location

Room Tip: Please keep searching. Trust me this is not quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drmuelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    145
    137
    69
    63
See reviews for
24
241
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Location: Perfect, just in the middle between Leidsplein and Dam square. A lot of shops nearby, restaurants and hangout places.
Street is quiet after 10-11 pm

Room: Booked 3 months in advance and got one of the smallest rooms in the hotel on the 4th floor with no elevator.
Basically you get a place to sleep, a toilet and a shower. Barely any place to stand and even put the luggage.
The guy at the counter said it's normal for Amsterdam cause they give away the biggest rooms for early booking. The room smelled a bit like bad sewage.
Building is old = paper thin walls, if you have trouble sleeping you should bring earplugs.

Breakfast: Basic but more then worthy of the price.

Staff: extremely nice, helpful and polite.
Didn't have an extra blanket we asked but that's not really up to the staff.

Value for money: you get a basic room with in a comfortable location for a low price.

If you're young and don't mind the stairs - worth a look, just book as early as possible.
If you're older and can't climb to the 4th floor I would avoid staying here.

Room Tip: Prefer lower floors - stairs are very steep Rooms that end with "6" are the smallest - ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. I can honestly say it is the smallest and most unappealing place i have ever stayed. The room was extremely small i would imagine you had more space in a jail cell!!! The carpet looked like it hadn't been hoovered since it was put down, the staff are apparently on hand 24 hours a day which they spend looking at you as you come and go like a piece of dirt! Amsterdam is a lovely place with lots to see and do but if your after a nice hotel to relax in after seing the sights this is not the place to stay. My advice is do not book a room at this hotel you would be better to buy a cardboard box and live in it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louimartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights and it is the BEST Hotel ever we did stay in Amsterdam:
Clean, cosy, not expensive and wonderful people at the desk.
The street, Kerkstraat 45, is just around the corner of the Leidschestraat, 2 min. walking to the Leidscheplein and 8 min. walk to the Kalvenstraat.
We will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: There is no elevator ( the building is a restored old Dutch home), so, if it will be hard for you, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frits d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

very basic rooms...not my hotel of choice but stayed for two nights on a stag do. Sadly my room was robbed on the second day and money taken out of my wallet. There was no safe so I couldn't put it anywhere else. My room wasn't broken into forceably so Houdini must have been in the next room!! A few others in our party were also robbed.Made it a very damp end to an excellent weekend... The hotel staff were very unhelpful and rude, instead of being sympathetic they just played on the downside of calling the police, the waiting, the reports...you might miss your flight ...the everything!! AVOID AVOID AVOID! you have been warned...

Room Tip: don't go there...get a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lillibetisqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Acostar. Its situated in a very accessible area within walking distance of the happening Leidsplein square. The staff were friendly and helpful. The front desk is manned 24 hours. We were able to keep the luggage in storage before we checked in so we could go out to the city. Stairs are a bit steep but I guess that true for most of Amsterdam. As there is no lift you have to be fit to access upper floors! Rooms were small but there was space around the bed. There were problems in the bathroom - as the shower is not separated off the whole floor gets wet when showering, there was a leak in the shower mixer, but overall it worked out well.
Value for money. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

To breath in the city life this is the perfect hotel. It has the right location and trendy design. Everything is walking distance and we rented 1 day bikes insteat going by tram. This time we had a room on the gardensite, that is a bit bigger and quiet. We dont mind walking stairs, but if you do, you should let them know in your reservation. There could be alot of stairs.. :)
Beautiful design, clean and friendly people. We had breakfast all 4 mornings. Last morning we had to departure before breakfast hours, but our breakfast was prepared anyway.
A young guy working there nows everything about the night life in Amsterdam. He made sure our names came on the guestlist of a couple of amazing clubs.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Quiet room on the gardensite. Old or bad fysic? ask for room without walkning to many stairs. Alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vann1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#287 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#259 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#270 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#309 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#195 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#282 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Property: Acostar Hotel
Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acostar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing