We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again!!”
Review of Acostar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acostar Hotel
Ranked #161 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We were a little bit concerned about staying here after we seen some bad reviews but i don't see any of the problems that people commented on, we stayed on the 3rd floor, our room was spacious and had a fantastic bathroom, towels were changed daily and the bed was made, i don't know why people complain about bed sheets not being changed daily...well you would change them everyday at home would you?! We stayed for breakfast only on one morning, good selection can't really complain it filled me up ready for a day of sight seeing!! This hotel it's literally in the heart of Amsterdam and really close to all major attractions never to far to walk. Overall we had a fantastic stay the staff were extremely friendly and we would definatly stay here again if we were ever to stay in Amsterdam again!! 5*, be aware that there is no lift and the stairs are quite steep!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSBarnes1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Acostar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 557 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was my first visit to Amsterdam, so it's hard to compare this to other places. I payed about 110Euro. The room looked nothing like that on the website. It was miniature. Impossible to even put my luggage in it. Fortunately it was just me, so I shared my bed with one of my luggage pieces. My room was right beside the stairwell, so I heard the door slamming constantly. The voices from the hallway were extremely loud. The bed was fine and the linens were fine.

The customer service at the front desk was very good and they were very friendly.

I would probably try somewhere else unless you can confirm one of the nice rooms that the market in their photos.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not the basic room and make sure it is away from the stairwell.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trilobite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in the Acostar hotel, which was a very nice experience. The purpose of our stay was visiting our family, but as the hotel's location is right in the center we had the possibility to enjoy the beauties of the city as well. I was 6 months pregnant and they were very nice, because they gave us a room on the ground floor, which was very comfortable that I din't have to walk the stairs. The room was spacious enough, clean, nice bathroom, with free bathroom amenities (shampoo, body lotion). The breakfast was very nice in the morning, you can order fried eggs or omelettes included in the breakfast price. The location is very touristical, right by Leidseplein, the heart of the city. All the main tourist attractions are a short walk from the hotel. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorageisterfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in acostar was only ok, great location an great value but would recommend to rent an apartment as rooms were small even thou your not there that much!! Great city to walk around, plenty to do an see an eat an smoke!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat090803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is really great. However, I really would not recommend it duento : Dirty rooms; linen and towels were old and full of holes; Windows let wind escape- and it was -5 degrees outside!; there is no lift, so we had to carry the suitcases for four floors (no help was offered by the staff); in our last night there was a birthday party at the restaurant of the hotel, and it ended very late. As one of our rooms was in the basement, we could hear all the songs, and our ceiling would be making noises as people were dancing. When the party was over, it seems like they were cleaning up and storing things in the basement- so they would be slamming doors and talking really loudly. It was impossible to sleep.
The next day, the hotel did not manage to prepare the breakfast at the established time (8am), as they were still apparently cleaning up the place - which was still stinking due to cigarettes and alcohol- and due to the party.
In general, we found it very inadequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at thenground floor, as there is no lift. The room in the basement is not good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location right in the heart of Amsterdam. We stayed in room 502 the penthouse suite. 5th floor, no elevator. The room was not really big as I was expecting. Nice bath tub, but the shower could be using some more power. Also the stone pavement in the bathroom was too cold to walk on... Would be nice if it was heated.
The staff was very cold and not helpful at all. One morning I asked some suggestion about what is a traditional place to have breakfast in town and the lady at reception said: "you can have breakfast here at our hotel". Refusing to give any other suggestion. Everytime we asked for something it looked like a pain for them. Not a warm welcome at all.
Other than that, the view from our window was nice, although they should be working on their heaters... Little too cold.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley_Kvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rune S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#308 of 371 in Amsterdam
374 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#304 of 371 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#29 of 337 in Amsterdam
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#96 of 337 in Amsterdam
255 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#171 of 337 in Amsterdam
121 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#57 of 337 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $102 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acostar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing