We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would stay again!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acostar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acostar Hotel
Ranked #230 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would stay again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We were a little bit concerned about staying here after we seen some bad reviews but i don't see any of the problems that people commented on, we stayed on the 3rd floor, our room was spacious and had a fantastic bathroom, towels were changed daily and the bed was made, i don't know why people complain about bed sheets not being changed daily...well you would change them everyday at home would you?! We stayed for breakfast only on one morning, good selection can't really complain it filled me up ready for a day of sight seeing!! This hotel it's literally in the heart of Amsterdam and really close to all major attractions never to far to walk. Overall we had a fantastic stay the staff were extremely friendly and we would definatly stay here again if we were ever to stay in Amsterdam again!! 5*, be aware that there is no lift and the stairs are quite steep!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSBarnes1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    145
    137
    69
    63
See reviews for
24
241
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was my first visit to Amsterdam, so it's hard to compare this to other places. I payed about 110Euro. The room looked nothing like that on the website. It was miniature. Impossible to even put my luggage in it. Fortunately it was just me, so I shared my bed with one of my luggage pieces. My room was right beside the stairwell, so I heard the door slamming constantly. The voices from the hallway were extremely loud. The bed was fine and the linens were fine.

The customer service at the front desk was very good and they were very friendly.

I would probably try somewhere else unless you can confirm one of the nice rooms that the market in their photos.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not the basic room and make sure it is away from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trilobite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in the Acostar hotel, which was a very nice experience. The purpose of our stay was visiting our family, but as the hotel's location is right in the center we had the possibility to enjoy the beauties of the city as well. I was 6 months pregnant and they were very nice, because they gave us a room on the ground floor, which was very comfortable that I din't have to walk the stairs. The room was spacious enough, clean, nice bathroom, with free bathroom amenities (shampoo, body lotion). The breakfast was very nice in the morning, you can order fried eggs or omelettes included in the breakfast price. The location is very touristical, right by Leidseplein, the heart of the city. All the main tourist attractions are a short walk from the hotel. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorageisterfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in acostar was only ok, great location an great value but would recommend to rent an apartment as rooms were small even thou your not there that much!! Great city to walk around, plenty to do an see an eat an smoke!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat090803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is really great. However, I really would not recommend it duento : Dirty rooms; linen and towels were old and full of holes; Windows let wind escape- and it was -5 degrees outside!; there is no lift, so we had to carry the suitcases for four floors (no help was offered by the staff); in our last night there was a birthday party at the restaurant of the hotel, and it ended very late. As one of our rooms was in the basement, we could hear all the songs, and our ceiling would be making noises as people were dancing. When the party was over, it seems like they were cleaning up and storing things in the basement- so they would be slamming doors and talking really loudly. It was impossible to sleep.
The next day, the hotel did not manage to prepare the breakfast at the established time (8am), as they were still apparently cleaning up the place - which was still stinking due to cigarettes and alcohol- and due to the party.
In general, we found it very inadequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at thenground floor, as there is no lift. The room in the basement is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location right in the heart of Amsterdam. We stayed in room 502 the penthouse suite. 5th floor, no elevator. The room was not really big as I was expecting. Nice bath tub, but the shower could be using some more power. Also the stone pavement in the bathroom was too cold to walk on... Would be nice if it was heated.
The staff was very cold and not helpful at all. One morning I asked some suggestion about what is a traditional place to have breakfast in town and the lady at reception said: "you can have breakfast here at our hotel". Refusing to give any other suggestion. Everytime we asked for something it looked like a pain for them. Not a warm welcome at all.
Other than that, the view from our window was nice, although they should be working on their heaters... Little too cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_Kvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#287 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#257 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#270 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#307 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#193 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#284 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Property: Acostar Hotel
Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acostar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing