We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Photos of rooms are misleading. Thin walls. Miniature rooms”
Review of Acostar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acostar Hotel
Ranked #156 of 335 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location. Photos of rooms are misleading. Thin walls. Miniature rooms”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was my first visit to Amsterdam, so it's hard to compare this to other places. I payed about 110Euro. The room looked nothing like that on the website. It was miniature. Impossible to even put my luggage in it. Fortunately it was just me, so I shared my bed with one of my luggage pieces. My room was right beside the stairwell, so I heard the door slamming constantly. The voices from the hallway were extremely loud. The bed was fine and the linens were fine.

The customer service at the front desk was very good and they were very friendly.

I would probably try somewhere else unless you can confirm one of the nice rooms that the market in their photos.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not the basic room and make sure it is away from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trilobite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    174
    165
    76
    70
See reviews for
29
291
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in the Acostar hotel, which was a very nice experience. The purpose of our stay was visiting our family, but as the hotel's location is right in the center we had the possibility to enjoy the beauties of the city as well. I was 6 months pregnant and they were very nice, because they gave us a room on the ground floor, which was very comfortable that I din't have to walk the stairs. The room was spacious enough, clean, nice bathroom, with free bathroom amenities (shampoo, body lotion). The breakfast was very nice in the morning, you can order fried eggs or omelettes included in the breakfast price. The location is very touristical, right by Leidseplein, the heart of the city. All the main tourist attractions are a short walk from the hotel. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorageisterfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in acostar was only ok, great location an great value but would recommend to rent an apartment as rooms were small even thou your not there that much!! Great city to walk around, plenty to do an see an eat an smoke!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat090803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is really great. However, I really would not recommend it duento : Dirty rooms; linen and towels were old and full of holes; Windows let wind escape- and it was -5 degrees outside!; there is no lift, so we had to carry the suitcases for four floors (no help was offered by the staff); in our last night there was a birthday party at the restaurant of the hotel, and it ended very late. As one of our rooms was in the basement, we could hear all the songs, and our ceiling would be making noises as people were dancing. When the party was over, it seems like they were cleaning up and storing things in the basement- so they would be slamming doors and talking really loudly. It was impossible to sleep.
The next day, the hotel did not manage to prepare the breakfast at the established time (8am), as they were still apparently cleaning up the place - which was still stinking due to cigarettes and alcohol- and due to the party.
In general, we found it very inadequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at thenground floor, as there is no lift. The room in the basement is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location right in the heart of Amsterdam. We stayed in room 502 the penthouse suite. 5th floor, no elevator. The room was not really big as I was expecting. Nice bath tub, but the shower could be using some more power. Also the stone pavement in the bathroom was too cold to walk on... Would be nice if it was heated.
The staff was very cold and not helpful at all. One morning I asked some suggestion about what is a traditional place to have breakfast in town and the lady at reception said: "you can have breakfast here at our hotel". Refusing to give any other suggestion. Everytime we asked for something it looked like a pain for them. Not a warm welcome at all.
Other than that, the view from our window was nice, although they should be working on their heaters... Little too cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_Kvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance of Prinsengracht, Leidesplein ( 9streets).This is where u shud be in Amsterdam! You can walk around the beautiful canals and shops, coffee houses.It was literally walking distance everywhere and a 10 min tram ride from central station .If you dont feel like walking catch a tram from just across the street.The room was nice warm and clean and they even provide a cup of free tea/coffee in the morning :)
Enjoyed our stay..no complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with the huge window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MallikaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#298 of 367 in Amsterdam
369 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 367 in Amsterdam
471 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#318 of 367 in Amsterdam
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,947 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#28 of 335 in Amsterdam
741 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#56 of 335 in Amsterdam
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Property: Acostar Hotel
Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acostar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HRS, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing