We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Finally, a decent tapas bar in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas Bar Catala

Tapas Bar Catala
Ranked #388 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Finally, a decent tapas bar in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

After a first mediocre tapas experience in Amsterdam, I thought I'd give it another go.

And I was glad this one didn't disappoint.

You can either order mains from the menu, or head inside and peek around the counter and choose your preferred tapas.

I decided I'd give the mains a miss and ordered warm tapas instead. So I opted for the paella, the octopus with peas, and mussels, and sat outside for a spot of people watching. Have to say, I quite enjoyed the entire experience, really.

The food was rather tasty, and the portions are just right for a single diner. Order more and enjoy greater variety if you have friends to share.

I have to admit that there's isn't a wide selection of tapas, but enough. And I left the restaurant full and happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jameskenglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabiota T, Public Relations Manager at Tapas Bar Catala, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback, it help us to contstantly improve our quality, service and reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    88
    31
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great authentic spanish cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Popped in on the off chance for food one night. Waiter was very friendly and knowledgable about the dishes. Ordered 3 plates to share and a bottle of wine, reasonably priced. Tasted exactly like traditional spanish tapas. Would definately return.

Helpful?
Thank meshellawella
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Expensive "dutch style" Tapas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

the first site upon arrival is a large Heineken Beer Tap - not a promising start! (Spanish beers were available by the bottle). The helpful staff then guided us through the tapas on the counter. The Squid/Peas combo was a tiny plate of peas with maybe 3 miniature pieces of squid included.The paella was overly yellow in colour and not appealing. Better were the freshly prepared items, excellent sirloin (but 18 euros!) and fried chorizo. the menu was a confusing mixture and didn't actually list many tapas items! Ok we had 2 beers and 2 bottles of wine but for two people 5 shared small dishes came to Euro 120 !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“excellent authentic tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have frequented this establisment on several occasion. The tapas have never let me down. The quality is good and service excellent. The bar has a great Spanish feel to it.
I can reccommenf Pulpo a la Galega and Calamares for lovers of seafood. The home made bread is also particularly good. Excellent choice of wines, cava a beers. This is one of the few tapas bars I have visited outside of Spain that can truly call itself an authentic tapas bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chistorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

One of my favourite restaurants in Amsterdam. The rasor clams are excelent if they have them. The service is very good and the Tapas are reasonably priced.

Helpful?
2 Thank tazape
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Bar Catala also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tapas Bar Catala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing