We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tuna salad sandwich!”
Review of Lunchcafe Nielsen

Lunchcafe Nielsen
Ranked #979 of 3,909 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best tuna salad sandwich!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We popped into this Cafe' and it was a great find. They have some amazing looking apple pies. We had tuna and blt sandwiches and a tuna salad. The ingredients were fresh and the bread was delicious. Service was friendly and quick. Would definitely return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clauds179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    70
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stopped by for breakfast and enjoyed their fresh fruit and coffee. Good prices and service. Coffee was the best we've had.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveltoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went to Café Nielsen twice in one week. They offer a nice breakfast special with eggs, toast, fruit, fresh squeezed oj and a hot beverage all for 9 Euros. It is a cute little place and convenient to The Hotel Pulitzer. It's in the 9 streets and worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathy2921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute place, worth a visit if in the area.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My Husband and I were on Berenstraat to eat at Pancakes! across the street, this turned out to be a disappointment so we decided to have our after meal coffees elsewhere and came across the lovely Cafe Nielsen.
The staff are friendly and the service fast, it has a beautiful warm cozy feel - great with the snow outside. I had a delicious latte and my husband had a Mocha and we shared a tasty lemon cake, It was the end of the days trade but we were not rushed to finish.
Part of our order was forgotten but not charged so we didn't bother raising it with the staff. We overheard them giving great local information to another customer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuxBunBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Free Wi-Fi and right around the corner from Sheraton Pulitzer”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you're looking for a bite to eat, a coffee or tea and place with free wi-fi stop by this place. It's a clean and comfortable establishment. Support the local businesses!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffgeorgine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunchcafe Nielsen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lunchcafe Nielsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing