We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“11am brunch.. Friendly service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanislavski Restaurant

Stanislavski Restaurant
Ranked #2,863 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European, Dutch, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“11am brunch.. Friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I came across this place whilst on a work visit to Amsterdam.

Arrived at 11am, sat outside and was attended by 2 really lovely waiters. Sandwich was great and also do some lovely vegetarian options with big portions. Lovely coffee too.

Nice location for people watching! Very chilled out

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannahalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    35
    21
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I was here July 19, 2013. I had to ask to be seated at a table that was empty. Then I had to request a menu from the waitress. Three other tables who arrived after I did received their food before the beer I ordered was served. The waitress assigned to my table was completely disengaged and didn't seem to even remember I was there. When I finally said I'd waited long enough and was leaving, she couldn't have cared less.

There are too many good restaurants in Amsterdam who care about their customers for me to take another chance on one that exhibited such poor service. I won't go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
241 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“An option before the show, no more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Been there before 8:30pm show at Staatsschouwburg. Not great, not bad, reasonably priced, slow service (even though we warned them we had a show afterwards).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank matoux00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
451 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stopped here after finding all the tables full at a neighboring spot. The menu is pretty basic. I ordered some croquettes, which seemed to have no taste at all; none of us could identify what they were made of (the standard is veal). Later I saw a truck delivering these croquettes, so they were at least not restaurant-made. Service was acceptable but not more than that. We thought about dining in the restuarant later but decided not to, based on this so-so experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible service and bland food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Met up with a friend for lunch. My friend is vegetarian which he told the waiter who then made a recommendation for a specific lunch sandwich. When the sandwich was almost half eaten my friend realized that there was ham in it.

I had a roast beef sandwich where the roast beef was too well done, and the food in general was quite bland and dry.

When I wanted to pay I was told to pay inside since I wanted to pay by card. Inside there was only one guy working, and I was the only guest. The waiter was filling up a fridge and did not see me come in so I said Hello to make him notice me. He looked at me, said Hi, and then continued to fill the fridge. Baffled I told him I would like to pay my bill, which by his look seemed to be very demanding.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobbebobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanislavski Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Stanislavski Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing