We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely B & B in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vondel View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vondel View B&B
Ranked #16 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rowley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lovely B & B in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

When we arrived at Vondel View after an overnight flight from the US, Rita greeted us and carried our luggage up to the Flower Room. The room was beautifully decorated with big windows, which let the afternoon sun filter in. There were two towels lying on the bed, wrapped in blue ribbons. In the bathroom, there were robes & slippers for our use. Breakfast was served in the room by Rita. If you were not up, she would leave it outside the door. The breakfasts were ample enough to serve as both breakfast and lunch. In fact, one day we packed a picnic lunch with the leftover meat, cheese and bread from our breakfast. Rita provided maps, brochures of attractions and restaurants in the area. The location was in a quiet neighborhood adjacent to Vondelpark, which is a great place to bird or people-watch. It is also a short tram ride to Museumplein. There was also a variety of ethnic restaurants within walking distance of the B & B. We had dinner at a Moroccan restaurant one night, and a lovely French/Dutch restaurant another night. We were only able to stay 4 nights because the rest of the week was reserved. The only thing I would mention is that the staircase to the Flower Room is a spiral staircase, which is both narrow and steep. And the shower in the bathroom is up a few steps, so you have to step down into it. There are also 5-6 steep steps to enter the building. So I would not recommend the Flower room for anyone with mobility issues. With that caveat, I would highly recommend Vondel View for anyone visiting Amsterdam. Rita really aims to please! Dutch hospitality at it's best!

Room Tip: Avoid the Flower Room if you are afraid of heights or have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celticmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
203
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

During your stay the feeling of being a guest in a friends house is recognized upon arrival. The rooms are spotless, location convenient to transportation to all of the city. A thumbs up to Rita as the perfect host.

Room Tip: The downstairs suite is the most convenient. Upstairs requires use of a spiral staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The pictures on the website are a good depiction of the accommodations. The rooms, which are uniquely and artistically decorated, are spotless. Every comfort and luxury has been provided for the guest. Rita, your host, is warm, welcoming and goes to great length to meet your every need and wish. I loved the bed and pillows and slept better at Vondelview than I do at home.

I use Trip Advisor to plan my accommodations when I travel, therefore I try to give feedback for others to use. I had researched the best place to stay in Amsterdam and selected Vondelview. I am happy to report that this proved to be true. Convenient, comfortable, clean, spacious are all adjectives I would use. I can not think of a thing on which I could suggest improvement and I have not yet even mentioned the breakfast. If you think you have had a five star breakfast previously in your life, you will likely reconsider after a breakfast at the Vondelview. Five star does not adequately describe the food. Two mornings, two different sumptuous breakfasts. Our third morning was a very early morning flight, so Rita prepared us some food to go. Loved the stay and would stay again. Note: the second floor Flower room is very nice, but as stated on the site the spiral stairs are steep and narrow. We are in our mid 60's and had no problem, but we are very mobile. The downstairs room (in which our friends stayed) is easier access and also very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gma51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you want to experience the real Dutch culture yet still be independent and private, the Vondelview is the place for you. The moment I walked into the Flower Room I was charmed by its beautiful decor and homey feeling. As inexperienced travelers from a rural community we were unaccustomed to the crowds in Amsterdam and the amount of bikes! Vondelview is just far enough away from the city center as to be peaceful and quiet yet a mere 5 minute walk to the nearest tram. The B&B is on a street that dead ends into the park entrance. We arrived early, around 10 am and didn't expect our room to be ready. Our hostess, Rita greeted us and suggested we explore Vondelpark while our room was being readied. What a lovely way to relax and work out the stiffness of the 8 hour flight. We had lunch in an outdoor café in the park while enjoying a beautiful view of the film museum. Rita's breakfasts were superb surprising us with something new each day. In fact the setting is so lovely and the food so scrumptious we were tempted to linger too long before beginning our sightseeing. One day we were going to travel the Historic Triangle and planned to leave before breakfast. Rita packed a lunch for us instead and also included a few things for us to nibble on for breakfast. She was always so pleasant and helpful. Our last day was a Sunday and Rita made come calls to help us determine what church would be the best to attend and still make our train. Then she surprised me with a little gift for my birthday. Such thoughtfulness in all she did made this a unique and unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Elderly travelers should not attempt to navigate the circular staircase. Stay instead on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for 5 days in the Flower Room for our inaugural visit to Amsterdam - and what a pleasurable experience. The location is superb, with handy access to trams & buses, right next to the lovely Vondel Park, and an easy walk to the three major museums (Rijks, Van Gogh and Stedelik) in the Museum Quarter.
The Flower Room is spacious & tastefully decorated with a big and modern bathroom - it's such a treat. We would echo the sentiments of other reviewers that Rita is indeed a marvelous hostess. Besides providing generous and sumptuous breakfasts which were different everyday, Rita was most helpful in providing us with good tips for restaurants, and helped organized the transportation to and from the airport. Her thoughtfulness and effort made our stay in Amsterdam exceedingly comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. We would definitely stay at the Vondel View B&B again whenever we visit Amsterdam again.
Rita - thank you, and you're the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbko11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concepcion del Uruguay, Argentina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We loved staying at Vondel View B&B!
Rita is the perfect host and provided absolutely everything we needed to make our stay super comfortable. We had a very cozy, quiet, and spacious room with very nice views. However, the real surprise was breakfast.The first morning when we got up and opened the door to to our living room we were delighted to see a table which was tastefully set with a variety of delicious food, from warm bread, croissants, cheese, fruit; everything very colorful and delicious!
The B&B is also conveniently located, next to Vondel Park, close to museums, not far from the city centre, very nice restaurants nearby and an excellent bike rental a few minutes' walk.
We definitely recommend staying at Vondel View B&B as it is a much nicer experience than staying at a hotel.
Thanks for everything Rita! We would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOURNEMOUTH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I can only reiterate all that has been said in previous reviews! Rita is the most marvellous hostess providing information when needed without being intrusive - just the right mix. Beautiful rooms and a fun bath with Jacuzzi ! Delightful breakfasts and a really useful fridge just added to this most enjoyable stay. It is so close to all amenities - tram literally around corner (2 minutes from BnB) to the central part of Amsterdam - tram takes 10 minutes max and is every five minutes- but this BnB is so close to Vondel park and great shops, restaurants you could spend you time here! We've already booked for next year! Splash out on the suite -It's just simply wonderful!
PS for some reason the rating system won't allow me to choose the options I want but make no mistake I'm giving this BnB 5 stars in all categories!

Room Tip: splash out on the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SILVANABournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Property: Vondel View B&B
Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Vondel View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing