We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, stylish and very lovely decorated apartment”
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Ranked #18 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfortable, stylish and very lovely decorated apartment”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My partner and I were with 2 friends in the Vondel view.
Rita was very very friendly.
She took care of everything.
And she has tried to make our vacation time as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulien s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
203
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The B & B is beautiful and very well situated. It's close ti theTram and Vondel Park. Rita was an excellent hostess. Breakfast was WONDERFUL! Our room was beautiful and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We had the room upstairs and it was very cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The family chose to see the blooms in the Netherlands on their Spring break and as usual, we followed Tripadvisor recommendations and booked a room at B&B Vondelview.

B&B Vondelview very much deserves all the praise it gets from the other reviews here on Tripadvisor--including Traveller's Choice Award.

The room was big, bright, clean, and tastefully decorated (queen bed + double-sized sofa bed). The bathroom was immaculate (with jacuzzi!). The highlight though was the host, Rita, and the consistently excellent continental breakfast she serves every morning.

For fitness buffs and families, the excellent jogging paths and playgrounds of Vondelpark is just a 2 minute walk.

For foodies, Rita has fantastic set of recommendations for various restaurants (Thai, Indonesian, Mexican, etc.) in the vicinity. There is also 2 Albert Heijn mini-grocery nearby if all you want is some bread, butter, and jam. This said, it is very much worth it to save your appetite for Rita's breakfasts!

For technology fanatics, there is free wi-fi, a power plug adaptor in the room, and lots of electrical outlets to charge your gadgets.

For transport, Vondelview's location is between Vondelpark (excellent for a walk, kids adored the playground) and Overtoom St. (J.P. Heigelstraat stop on Tram line 1 which takes you to shops and restaurants on Leidseplein, Spui,the major canals, and Amsterdam Centraal). There is also a Europcar (called Amsterdam City branch on Europcar's website) about 5 minutes walk away as well as a Hertz branch about 8 minutes walk away) if you wish to drive. Note, parking in the area, as with the rest of Amsterdam, is not cheap so only rent a car when absolutely needed (we did when we went to Efteling).

It was very convenient for us and we thus we recommend the taxi service that Rita recommended (Rob, Raymond, and their friends) to transfer from and to the airport. Rob's car broke down and he made sure to arrange for one of his mates to take care of us. Cost was EUR40-50 each way for a family of 4 with big suitcases in a minivan.

For improvement points, I wish the provided safe were bigger so it can fit a laptop / SLR camera (it only fit our passports and extra cash). This said, all our belongings were 100% safe in the room.

I would recommend that Rita consider putting a printer in the room (Rita did offer to print airline and canal cruise tickets for us but we wanted her to focus her energy on her excellent breakfasts, not on buggy technologies!). The desktop computer in the room can use an upgrade as it was slow to boot up but decent for surfing and checking emails. These are all nitpicks really and overall, we had a totally satisfying experience and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We wish Rita operated a B&B in every major city so we won't need to research where to stay each time we travel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

With only 2 rooms, I think my wife and I were very fortunate to get a reservation. This place is terrific! We made our choice based on good reviews on TripAdvisor. And the reviews are well deserved.

Rita, the innkeeper, is a superb host. So very friendly and kind. She also creates wonderful breakfasts each morning and delivers them to your room! If you are particularly lucky, you will be staying there when she brings apple pie as part of your breakfast. Oh my ....

We had the upstairs room. The spiral stairs are a bit steep by USA standards, but the climb is worth it! The room is large, well-furnished, and spotless. And the private bath is just as nice. We found the room to be a quiet oasis in frantically-busy Amsterdam.

By the way, Rita insisted on taking our too-heavy luggage up and down the stairs herself. Wouldn't hear of letting her guests do it!

The Vondel View is in a small block of stately old houses on a side street that runs between a busy main artery (Overtoom) and the beautiful Vondelpark. No problem to walk from there to Museumsplein, Leidsplein, Spui, Dam Square, or even Centraal Station if you want. But if you don't, Tram 1 stops less than 2 blocks away from Vondel View and can get you to all those places in a jiffy. Several bars and restaurants in the neighborhood, too. And we never felt or observed anything unsafe (except for the crazy locals texting while riding their bikes!)

Rita has a huge, old, very friendly cat who will barge into your room if he gets a chance! Fortunately for my wife and me, we've always liked B&Bs that have a resident pet ...

If you can get a reservation here, do so at once. Vondel View's website is pretty good and that's how I made our reservation. I sent several e-mails to Rita in advance of our vist and she answered very promptly.

Rita, thanks for the great memories!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Even_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Our trip to Amsterdam was a birthday present from our sons. They chose the Vondel View and we were not disappointed with their choice. Rita was the perfect host and made us feel very welcome and at home. We stayed in the apartment, which is situated on the ground floor and is delightful, nicely decorated with beautiful feature ceilings and huge windows. It was spotless and clean with lovely touches such as the slippers, bathrobes and towels tied up with blue ribbon in the bedroom to the fresh flowers in the sitting room and the computer with internet access.

The breakfast was brilliant, different cheese and ham every day along with delicious bread and local cake plus fresh fruit. Great coffee too. The Vondel View has all the creature comforts, good big bed with super duvet nice and warm and lots of other little extras. No need to take a hairdryer as one is supplied - a proper one not the usual hotel ones that are stuck on the wall.

Great location and easy to get into the centre of Amsterdam by tram or on foot. You would not be disappointed, Rita is a great host and a delightful, helpful person.

We would recommend the Vondel Park.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Rita is an incredibly accommodating host! The rooms are impeccable, clean, spacious and comfortable. It is a short walk to Vondel Park and the city centre.
We have stayed here twice and both times with kids and you feel right at home. The breakfast each morning is delicious and varied and you really feel like you sample the local produce.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cameron_B_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the beautifully decorated Flower Room, that comes with a beautifully decorated bathroom as well. Heating worked very well and wifi is available.
To note: the room is only accessible by very steep stairs.
Breakfast was delicious - the owner added a typical Dutch touch every day.
I agree with Deeman13: two days is not enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBAgraduate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,272 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,553 reviews
Vondelpark
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
#87 of 367 in Amsterdam
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#82 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,233 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Property: Vondel View B&B
Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054 JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing