We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$233
$193
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$214
$171
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$193
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$225
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $296/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH City Centre Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$177
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
287
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkwalking distanceritaaccommodationsvondel
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 305 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The B & B is beautiful and very well situated. It's close ti theTram and Vondel Park. Rita was an excellent hostess. Breakfast was WONDERFUL! Our room was beautiful and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We had the room upstairs and it was very cool!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The family chose to see the blooms in the Netherlands on their Spring break and as usual, we followed Tripadvisor recommendations and booked a room at B&B Vondelview.

B&B Vondelview very much deserves all the praise it gets from the other reviews here on Tripadvisor--including Traveller's Choice Award.

The room was big, bright, clean, and tastefully decorated (queen bed + double-sized sofa bed). The bathroom was immaculate (with jacuzzi!). The highlight though was the host, Rita, and the consistently excellent continental breakfast she serves every morning.

For fitness buffs and families, the excellent jogging paths and playgrounds of Vondelpark is just a 2 minute walk.

For foodies, Rita has fantastic set of recommendations for various restaurants (Thai, Indonesian, Mexican, etc.) in the vicinity. There is also 2 Albert Heijn mini-grocery nearby if all you want is some bread, butter, and jam. This said, it is very much worth it to save your appetite for Rita's breakfasts!

For technology fanatics, there is free wi-fi, a power plug adaptor in the room, and lots of electrical outlets to charge your gadgets.

For transport, Vondelview's location is between Vondelpark (excellent for a walk, kids adored the playground) and Overtoom St. (J.P. Heigelstraat stop on Tram line 1 which takes you to shops and restaurants on Leidseplein, Spui,the major canals, and Amsterdam Centraal). There is also a Europcar (called Amsterdam City branch on Europcar's website) about 5 minutes walk away as well as a Hertz branch about 8 minutes walk away) if you wish to drive. Note, parking in the area, as with the rest of Amsterdam, is not cheap so only rent a car when absolutely needed (we did when we went to Efteling).

It was very convenient for us and we thus we recommend the taxi service that Rita recommended (Rob, Raymond, and their friends) to transfer from and to the airport. Rob's car broke down and he made sure to arrange for one of his mates to take care of us. Cost was EUR40-50 each way for a family of 4 with big suitcases in a minivan.

For improvement points, I wish the provided safe were bigger so it can fit a laptop / SLR camera (it only fit our passports and extra cash). This said, all our belongings were 100% safe in the room.

I would recommend that Rita consider putting a printer in the room (Rita did offer to print airline and canal cruise tickets for us but we wanted her to focus her energy on her excellent breakfasts, not on buggy technologies!). The desktop computer in the room can use an upgrade as it was slow to boot up but decent for surfing and checking emails. These are all nitpicks really and overall, we had a totally satisfying experience and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We wish Rita operated a B&B in every major city so we won't need to research where to stay each time we travel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

With only 2 rooms, I think my wife and I were very fortunate to get a reservation. This place is terrific! We made our choice based on good reviews on TripAdvisor. And the reviews are well deserved.

Rita, the innkeeper, is a superb host. So very friendly and kind. She also creates wonderful breakfasts each morning and delivers them to your room! If you are particularly lucky, you will be staying there when she brings apple pie as part of your breakfast. Oh my ....

We had the upstairs room. The spiral stairs are a bit steep by USA standards, but the climb is worth it! The room is large, well-furnished, and spotless. And the private bath is just as nice. We found the room to be a quiet oasis in frantically-busy Amsterdam.

By the way, Rita insisted on taking our too-heavy luggage up and down the stairs herself. Wouldn't hear of letting her guests do it!

The Vondel View is in a small block of stately old houses on a side street that runs between a busy main artery (Overtoom) and the beautiful Vondelpark. No problem to walk from there to Museumsplein, Leidsplein, Spui, Dam Square, or even Centraal Station if you want. But if you don't, Tram 1 stops less than 2 blocks away from Vondel View and can get you to all those places in a jiffy. Several bars and restaurants in the neighborhood, too. And we never felt or observed anything unsafe (except for the crazy locals texting while riding their bikes!)

Rita has a huge, old, very friendly cat who will barge into your room if he gets a chance! Fortunately for my wife and me, we've always liked B&Bs that have a resident pet ...

If you can get a reservation here, do so at once. Vondel View's website is pretty good and that's how I made our reservation. I sent several e-mails to Rita in advance of our vist and she answered very promptly.

Rita, thanks for the great memories!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Even_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Our trip to Amsterdam was a birthday present from our sons. They chose the Vondel View and we were not disappointed with their choice. Rita was the perfect host and made us feel very welcome and at home. We stayed in the apartment, which is situated on the ground floor and is delightful, nicely decorated with beautiful feature ceilings and huge windows. It was spotless and clean with lovely touches such as the slippers, bathrobes and towels tied up with blue ribbon in the bedroom to the fresh flowers in the sitting room and the computer with internet access.

The breakfast was brilliant, different cheese and ham every day along with delicious bread and local cake plus fresh fruit. Great coffee too. The Vondel View has all the creature comforts, good big bed with super duvet nice and warm and lots of other little extras. No need to take a hairdryer as one is supplied - a proper one not the usual hotel ones that are stuck on the wall.

Great location and easy to get into the centre of Amsterdam by tram or on foot. You would not be disappointed, Rita is a great host and a delightful, helpful person.

We would recommend the Vondel Park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Rita is an incredibly accommodating host! The rooms are impeccable, clean, spacious and comfortable. It is a short walk to Vondel Park and the city centre.
We have stayed here twice and both times with kids and you feel right at home. The breakfast each morning is delicious and varied and you really feel like you sample the local produce.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cameron_B_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews