We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of B&B La Festa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B La Festa
Ranked #40 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We found this hotel conveniently located. Although our room was a bit small it did have a fully equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    60
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
124
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, West Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked two rooms at La Festa as part of a family member's 75th birthday surprise. We were not disappointed with the hotel at all. Very centrally located in the Jordaan area, it was within easy walking distance of many of the city's sights. Rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Depending on which room you're allocated, you'll find you have either the full range of self-catering equipment and a balcony (at the rear of the property) or tea and coffee making facilities (at the front of the property). If you want the former, we stayed in Room 3. The owners were helpful and courteous. On the down side, if you have suitcases, there are very steep staircases to all rooms: not easy to navigate with luggage. However, if you stay in any traditional, central Amsterdam canal house, you'll have the same problem. The owners did offer to help carry the cases for us, and kindly looked after them on our last day after we had checked out. There was no shelf to store toiletries in the bathroom, though the bathroom itself was well appointed. We were also alarmed to find that building work was being done to the restaurant on the ground floor, causing noise throughout the hotel during working hours. Though we were out most of the time, we would have appreciated being told this beforehand. We knew in advance the restaurant was being redecorated, but did not realise this included major renovation. Please also note that local room taxes of around 4-5 Euros per room are added to the bill, irrespective of the company you booked through. A good hotel: would stay there again.
Top tip: take the 197 bus (4 euros) from Schiphol Airport to its terminus at Marnixstraat. The hotel is a short walk away down Elandsgracht.

Room Tip: If you want full self-catering facilities, ask for Room 3, or a room at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Worthingwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here beginning of feb 2012.

The location is good- lovely quiet streets and not that far away from all the central locations.

They are some lovely little restaurants in the area and fast food places. ( try burger meester around the corner). The bb restaurant was not open whilst we were here ( being renovated) .

In the room you have a reasonably priced minibar and umbrellas hair dryer and iron and coffee machine.


The owner was very friendly rooms cleaned daily and towels can be changed if wanted.

Would def go there again. X

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerz_yeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Great location (within walking distance but not in the busy section of town). The owner who greeted us was so friendly and helpful on arrival. The kitchen was so handy. It was nice having so much space.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nito1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at La Festa over Christmas and New Year in the least expensive room. The B&B is very conveniently located, just outside the 9 Streets area at the southern end of the Jordaan. It's close to major tram and bus routes, including a direct bus (route 197) to/from Schipol Airport.

The room and attached bathroom was spacious (for Europe), with modern furiniture and fittings, an excellent shower with a good strong flow of hot water, very comfortable bed and (importantly) plenty of cupboard and drawer space. There was also an in-room safe. Entry to the B&B and the room itself was via two separate electronic keys.

Breakfast is not included in the base room rate but is available at an adjacent coffee lounge for an additional fee (a discount on the usual prices of the coffeee lounge). Tea and coffee making facilities are included in the room as is a supply of tea, coffee, milk and sugar, although it might be nice if there was a supply of normal English breakfast tea, rather than Earl Grey and other spiced teas.

Unusually for a B&B, our room was serviced every day (except New Year's Day). Soap and shampoo were provided and regularly replenished. Towels were replaced daily.

Our room faced the street but we experienced little noise, New Year's Eve excepted (when Amsterdam goes fireworks mad). Hazenstraat carried largely pedestrian and bicycle traffic, with only occasional use by motor vehicles.

La Festa is above a pizzeria of the same name. We did not try the restaurant, although it was always busy. The B&B is in an area well serviced by restaurants and coffee shops. There is an Albert Hein supermarket (with ATMs) within 100m, and a major 7 day a week fresh food street market about 1km away. The B&B is about a 15 min walk from Dam Square, and about 200m from major tram routes, including the No 17 to Dam Square and Centraal. It's a fairly short walk from the B&B to the Westerkirk and Anne Frank House, a similar walk to the Leidesplein entertainment area, and about a 1km walk to the Reichsmuseum and the up market shopping street PC Hoof Straat.

We found La Festa's proprietor to be very friendly and welcoming. He is fluent in English.

Overall we found La Festa to be clean, comfortable, fairly spacious, very convenient and excellent value for Amsterdam.

Room Tip: A slightly more expensive room with a kitchette is available. This room is at the back of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongReefHacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblafesta, Owner at B&B La Festa, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Lovely B&B in Jordaan area. Within easy walking distance of most museums and squares, those further afield are easily reached on the excellent tram network. There is also a great variety of restaurants within the vicinity. We stayed in the room with its own kitchenette and balcony. We were extremely happy with the room, it was modern, light and reasonably sized. The staff were friendly and there is an excellent Italian downstairs. There are two reasons we didn't rate la festa higher, one is that the maid/cleaner came to clean twice while we were getting ready and after I asked her to come back about 10 mins later so we would be outshe didn't. The second is a leak of some kind in the bathroom which resulted in excess water sitting under some of the tiles which squelched when you walked on them. All this aside both my wife and I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblafesta, Owner at B&B La Festa, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our cleaning lady does not speak English, so she probably understood that you did not want the room to be cleaned that day.

We have scheduled to repair the leak so that will be fine soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We have just returned from 3 nights at La Festa B&B and we were very happy with the accomodation.
I am surprised that people have said that it is not not close to the centre or a tram stop. Tram 17 from Centraal Station stops nearby, no more than a 5 minute walk away, if that. We had no problem finding the accomodation, just looked it up on google maps before we went. On arrival we were warmly greeted by one of the owners and were given a map. Our room was up two flights of stairs. They were fairly steep, but I have known steeper in Amsterdam. We have visited the city on many occasions and stayed in many different hotels. We had a room with a small balcony and a kitchen area. The kitchen had a cooker/microwave, hobs, fridge with freezer box, kettle, philips senseo coffee maker, even a dishwasher! There was plenty of cutlery and crockery. You could have cooked a three course meal in there if you wanted! For us it was handy for having somewhere to keep our drinks cool. The room had two single beds which were pushed together and were very comfortable, we had very good sleeps the whole time we were there. The bed has proper duvets and fitted sheets, which was nice - I can't stand when the sheet comes loose during the night! The bathroom had a very large shower until with a handheld attatchment and a rainhead, which was lovely. Plenty of hot water and easy to operate. Towels were provided. The only down sides were that the door to the balcony was a little drafty, but I believe that in Amsterdam there are strict restrictions on what style of windows can be fitted on older properties. This was not a big problem as there was two heaters in the room which heated very quickly and warmed the room nicely. There was even a heated towel rail in the bathroom. The only other thing I would say is that if you are a light sleeper you should take ear plugs because you can hear noise from the other rooms. The people in the room below us both had bad coughing fits which woke me a couple of times. However, once again, this is very common in most buildings in Amsterdam and we have experienced this in many other hotels.
We were able to walk everywhere in Amsterdam easily from the accomodation, it took around 15 minutes to get to Dam Square. If you don't like to walk then get a tram pass. You can get them from the tourist office when you arrive at Schiphol airport.
We would highly recommend the B&B La Festa. You can easily pay double for a room in Amsterdam which doesn't even come close in terms of comfort, facilities and friendliness of staff. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angellore78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#131 of 367 in Amsterdam
318 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#76 of 367 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#28 of 331 in Amsterdam
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
AMS Suites
AMS Suites
#60 of 331 in Amsterdam
104 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#38 of 331 in Amsterdam
181 reviews
Plantage & the East
PH Apartment Suites
PH Apartment Suites
#177 of 228 in Amsterdam
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Festa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Festa

Property: B&B La Festa
Address: Hazenstraat 64, 1016 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B La Festa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bed & Breakfast La Festa, we take pride in offering highly personalised service in sleek, stylish, contemporary accommodations at highly competitive rates. Our B&B in the Jordaan area offers all the amenities you would expect of a four-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your B&B La Festa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b La Festa Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast La Festa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing