We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Food - Bad Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonny Falafel

Sonny Falafel
Ranked #1,016 of 3,561 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food - Bad Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I happened to be at Amsterdam city center and to eat in Sonny Falafel. The quality of food was excellent BUT one of the two persons working there was totally impolite and brute. I decided next day not to go there for the simple reason that I did not like his attitude and the way he was speaking and behaving to the customers, especially to tourists! It is too pity for such a really descent restaurant to have such totally unacceptable personnel!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasileios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very delicous falafel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

like it was recommended on trip advisor! very delicious falafel but don't try the carrots, they are REALLY spicy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jag911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very VERY good falafel and fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I'm not vegetarian but when I visit Sonny's I don't even remember of meat or fish. The menu is small, but falafel and fries is all that we come for, and it's a bonus for me that you can refill your sandwich with stuff from salad bar unlimited. We usually try to come before or after lunch time to get a place to sit, this place is popular among locals and gets crowded. I can really recommend Sonny for both vegetarians and omnivores looking for a casual lunch place with great food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really delicious falafel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went here twice over a weekend in Amsterdam even though it was quite far from where we stayed! The food was FANTASTIC, as a vegetarian I have had many, many falafels in my time and these were by far the best. It took us a while to find it at first so make sure that you have a good map! The guy is really funny and made us laugh whilst we were waiting. The salads and toppings were fresh and lovely, I wish we had gone here sooner so could have eaten there every day! It is just a take-away fast food type place so don't expect a proper restaurant, but there was space to sit outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank squidqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Cilantro Sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We found Sonny's after bumbling around Cuyperstraat area. But once we got there and had the falafels in hand, man it was great. Sonny has a variety of sauces to top the falafel with and we really enjoyed the Cilantro sauce. There are also some hot and spicy toppings, but the Cilantro sauce is so aromatic and just perfect for my palate.

The restaurant itself is nondescript, kind of a hole in the wall in a residential street just off Albert Cuypstraat - we took Tram 16/24 from the Dam area, and the Albert Cuyp market was shutting down due to earlier rain and time of day (after 5:30pm) But once we got our bearings and found the store, it was really worth it. Funny thing was other than us everyone else there was a local enjoying falafel. So this is not a tourist trap but a popular local good food place. Check out their website to see the map and get the layout of the streets right. If you are at the Heineken Experience, it is a short walk to Sonny's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank indysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny Falafel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sonny Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing