We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome Cilantro Sauce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny Falafel

Sonny Falafel
Ranked #1,158 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: De Pijp
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Cilantro Sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We found Sonny's after bumbling around Cuyperstraat area. But once we got there and had the falafels in hand, man it was great. Sonny has a variety of sauces to top the falafel with and we really enjoyed the Cilantro sauce. There are also some hot and spicy toppings, but the Cilantro sauce is so aromatic and just perfect for my palate.

The restaurant itself is nondescript, kind of a hole in the wall in a residential street just off Albert Cuypstraat - we took Tram 16/24 from the Dam area, and the Albert Cuyp market was shutting down due to earlier rain and time of day (after 5:30pm) But once we got our bearings and found the store, it was really worth it. Funny thing was other than us everyone else there was a local enjoying falafel. So this is not a tourist trap but a popular local good food place. Check out their website to see the map and get the layout of the streets right. If you are at the Heineken Experience, it is a short walk to Sonny's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank indysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great take-away falafel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We looked for ages to find this place - there is a street called eerste van der Helmestraat ad it's NOT there:) (@tourists- it's really close to the Heineken Brewery in case you're looking as well).
It is a tiny take-away shop - so don't expect a nice setting or anything fancy.
You have a vast choice of falafels with all sorts of toppings. You can then add yourself salad, tomatoes, sauces etc.
Taste= really great!
So definitely worth the search walk through half of Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElviraBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent little place, 5.50€ for a scrumptious falafel with serve your self fixings. Excellent sauces and salads. Having tried about 20 places, this is the best falafel I have tried in amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aviravir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great falafel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Great falafel and very friendly service. Although I wouldn't visit the De Pijp neighborhood for this place, I really enjoyed my meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
218 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“BEST FALAFEL I have had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was introduced to a Falafel at Sonny's a couple years ago by a friend, the guy behind the counter is a friendly friendly guy,, for 5 euros you can get a wonderful sandwich with marvelous toppings and wonderful sauces,, and oh their fries are yummy too... I recommend SONNY's its right off Albert Cuypt street Market.
Word of advice,, get loads of napkins, cos this sandwich as yummy as it is,, its also messy, it is not the type of thing u can walk down the street eating :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CloggieUsa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny Falafel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sonny Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing