We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Pretentious”
Review of Quattro Gatti

Quattro Gatti
Ranked #1,117 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Expensive and Pretentious”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This restaurant isn't open every day and changes its menu depending on what's in season. There are only 4 or 5 tables in this bistro-type restaurant and we ate as a party of four. It's run by a husband and wife team, he's the chef and she's front-of-house/waitress. The food is good quality but the place is rather pretentious and vastly overpriced. Starters are €12-20, mains €25-30 and puddings €10-12. I had one sausage served on hot coals with herbs and a side-order of potatoes with mushrooms; my partner had an open lasagne. With puddings (that were probably shop bought) and one beer each it cost the two of us €90!! Of course, it would have been much more with starters and wine. You'll find better value in nearby restaurants and I therefore cannot recommend Quattro Gatti :(

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    16
    5
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Amsterdam”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Quattro Gatti is the maximum expression of the passion for good food and wine of Milo (cook) and Christiane (somelier). Here everything is fresh and made to order, the menu therefore basically changes every day and you have to be patient before being able to try the delicate, original and extremely elaborate creations of this amazing couple. Missing this would be a crime...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LudoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We went here after being unable to get in at other places recommended by tripadvisor as an almost last resort. The food was incredible, and the service relaxed and friendly at all times. I am thoroughly surprised by the other reviews of this restaurant and it fully deserves to be much higher up the list!

Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An authentic home cooked meal.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by the woman partner who was friendly and helpful. The menu offered authentic Italian dishes that were expertly prepared. The chef was interested in pleasing his guests and very appreciative of our compliments. Our meal and service were one of the highlights of our five days in Amsterdam. A fair value in light of the delicious food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place shame about over charging!!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

white alba truffle season... the crostini with shrooms and aggs and truffles--outstanding!!! BUT THEN.. WE ASKED FOR PLAIN LINGUINE WITH BUTTER.. add some white truffles perfect..
the chef added anchoives and white wine to dish(i have eaten this simple dish for 10+_ years NEVER anchoives...)
we tried one bite and it was awful.. they simply took dishes and charged us 27 euros each.. so oops no im sorry no compromise,,,, 54 euros of uneaten food..
sorry but this is unexceptable!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikericci10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quattro Gatti also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Quattro Gatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing