We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make A Reservation”
Review of Bistro Bij Ons

Bistro Bij Ons
Reserve with
Bistro Bij Ons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #946 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Make A Reservation”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very quaint Dutch bistro, but DEFINITELY make a reservation (I made mine via email) because the inside is rather small. They were having to turn people away who hadn't made a reservation. Had the traditional Dutch meal stamppot with stewed beef and was very good. Warm and perfect fill your belly when it's chilly outside! Glad I stopped in for a traditional Dutch meal here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizzie94256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    193
    77
    36
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small, friendly, tasty bistro”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A small bistro run by Carla who has her eye one everything and everyone. She makes all feel welcome, and stopped to talk with us. Gave us recommendations and steered us to a "drinkable" wine instead of a more expensive one. Food was authentic Dutch which is why she opened the bistro, and tasty. It is centrally located on Prinsengracht on the canal. Be sure to call and book ahead. Many drop ins were turned away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whidbeygirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK Dutch Food, Awful Dutch Service”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I like Dutch people. I say this not just as a tourist, I've actually spent a semester in Rotterdam a few years back. Most of the Dutch people were kind and helpful, with rare exceptions as I guess one would encounter all over the world.

The owner of this restaurant unfortunately represents such an unpleasant exception. While the food is good (in Dutch cuisine standards - mind you), the service is awful. I know this could happen sometimes in a "local" family establishment, however the owner was rude, impatient, complained that we asked too many questions and even added a few racists remarks. This is no way to treat customers, and I am the last one expecting groveling service.

Visit this place at your own risk.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Amsterdam!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Let me start by saying two things. You MUST come here while in Amsterdam for a traditional Dutch dinner, and you MUST make a reservation. This little gem on the Prinsengracht is a stone's throw from Anne Frank House and Westerkerk Church. The restaurant is a tiny bistro by the canal and is recognizable by the statue of the little Dutch Girl standing outside. There are not many tables and this is why a reservation is necessary. "Bij Ons" means "With Us" in Dutch, and your hosts for the evening will be Esther and Carla. Carla is a blonde lady with a short haircut who is just wonderful. She is loaded with personality and makes you feel right at home. The menu is relatively limited, but I suggest that you come simply to have the traditional Dutch Meal - "Stamppot". The Stamppot consists of mashed potatoes,with vegetables, gravy and bacon served with a meatball, smoked sausage or stewed beef. On my waitress' recommendation I chose the Stamppot with Stewed Beef. In her words - "I'd get outta bed for Stewed Beef"....LOL! And she was right! The Stamppot was fabulous - so delicious. One person in our party tried it with the sausage option and I tasted it - very good. The meatball option for Stamppot also looked very good. Had a couple of bottles of red wine which were very reasonable. We loved the "Face to Face" Spanish wine that went very well with the Stamppot. Dutch Apple Pie for dessert was a great final touch to this super evening. You can't go wrong at Bistro Bij Ons - and say hello to Carla! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank galileocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient and really yummy”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

It was rainy and cold so we didn't want to venture too far from the hotel. This restaurant was a great find! Better than the Dutch food we had at other places, reasonably priced, and location was awesome. I would def. go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bij Ons also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bistro Bij Ons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing