We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Something a little bit different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Alberta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Alberta
Save
You added Maria Alberta to your Saves list
Ranked #175 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something a little bit different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just returned from a short break in Amsterdam and really enjoyed staying on the Maria Alberta. We received a really warm welcome from Lucas on our first night and found the boat with ease walking straight from Centrall Station taking us no more than 15 mins. Lucas gave us lots of helpful suggestions regarding where to eat and go whilst there. On our first night we tried the local italian which is good for someone on a budget as we have 3 courses and 3 alcoholic drinks which came in under 50 euros. We also tried the Nam Kee (chinese) in china town which was great. Try Cafe de Jardin for Lunch as they have a wonderful Salad Bar. We also tried the Dutch in the Biblotecque and went to a Korean on the last evening which was spot on also.

The boat itself was very small but we were expecting this. We were lucky to have the double bed room which had plenty of room for the 2 of us. The Bathroom (more like a cupboard) was very small for me and for my 6"3 partner, he struggled a little with me having to shut the door on him when showering. But it did its job!

One of our favourite part of the stay particularly on the boat was Breakfast. A good variety provided but no cooked breakfast option. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests and if you're not sociable then you would hate this setting as its very small and would be awkward if you didn't socialise. We met some lovely Chinese girls that stayed the same amount of time as us and it was nice to exchange stories and tips during this morning times.

It was very cold when we stayed but the boat was always warm. Extra blankets were also available.

Some things to consider: We were provided with one towel each for the 4 days we were there. It didn't fit around me and Im small so my partner struggled and when it came to washing my hair it was difficult as no foot towel even. Breakfast begins to be prepared around half 7 which woke us up every day even though its open 9-10, so no chance of a lie in. Be aware the boat moves and with others coming and going it can appear pretty noisy and make us a little jumpy in the middle of the night with only a latch to lock ourselves in with.

Room Tip: Go for the double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBryCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at this boat for 3 nights and we loved it!
Being a small boat the rooms are quite small but enough for the experience :) we stayed in the double room, really comfortable bed, warm (too much sometimes, which is good because u can control it and make it the way u want! :)
Everything is big enough to enjoy your stay ( and my partner is 6ft 2)
Great location as well!
The boat is close to the nemo museum and 10m walk from the central station! Really close to the centre but at the same time really quiet and relaxed :)
And the best of the best, breakfast :) it's a really good breakfast :) captain Lucas cooked for us amazing omelette one day, pancakes the other. And there is a variety of bread, cereals, tea and coffee! Every thing u need for a great start of the day!
The main difference here is that you are treated as a person and not just a costumer :) Every morning we had a nice chat with the owners that have a true passion for boats and love what they do!
It is a really worth it experience!
We will be back for sure :)
If u want to experience staying in a boat in Amsterdam stay here :) really worth it :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineseco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

That was a good experience. I like the intimacy that landlords showed. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlpA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland (American)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We decided to stay on a boat to get the full Amsterdam experience. We stayed 3 nights. The owner was wonderful- helpful, friendly, and funny. The location is convienent- about 5-10 minutes from central station on foot. The rooms were small- as we expected- since we were on a boat! Breakfast was included, and was simple, but good! The boat was in great condition. The other people staying were lovely- and some of them were repeat guests. We will definitely stay on the Maria Alberta when we come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 73557355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotelboat Iris
Hotelboat Iris
#120 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
#79 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
MPS Holland
MPS Holland
#43 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Alberta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Alberta

Property: Maria Alberta
Address: Jetty 5, Oosterdock | Marcantilaan 33, 1051 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing