We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little B&B”
Review of Flores & Puck

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flores & Puck
Ranked #69 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed with Astrid for one night when we spent a weekend in Amsterdam. Astrid was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and perfect for our needs. The bicycles included in our accommodation cost were perfect and we enjoyed cycling around Amsterdam immensely. The breakfast that we had included freshly baked rolls and croissants, ham, fruit, muesli and yoghurt - delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 92 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2010

Almost right in the centre of Amsterdam we were so lucky to discover a very pleasantly furnished and well-kept cottage located in a quiet and flourishing backyard which we were free to use. Our host Astrid and her sweet daughter were very nice and friendly, full of excellent hints. Being sightseeing most of the day we loved travelling by bicycle which were available and in very good condition. We got very well rested and hope to come back again soon, Johanna&Dirk from Germany

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We loved staying at this charming little cottage, right by the Vondelpark and a beautiful bikeride into the centre of Amsterdam. Being just outside the most touristy parts of the city is an advantage - at the end of the day, we could just come back to our private little cottage and garden and relax. The bed is comfortable and the nights are quiet for sleeping. There is a supermarket right nearby, and the place has a fridge, cutlery, dishes, table, etc., so you can eat some meals at home - when you're not following Astrid's excellent restaurant recommendations. She is a warm and friendly host. We loved everything about the place. Highly recommended, and good value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This was a great place to stay during our trip to Amsterdam. Astrid is an amazing host. The cottage had all the comforts of home and valuable information about the city was provided. We loved the location and the easy access to transit. The local shops were great and less touristy. Access to Vondel Park was convenient and we enjoyed many walks through the grounds. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to make it back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharpFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This very quiet bed & breakfast in a wonderfull part of Amsterdam was just fantastic. Our hostess very friendly. The tram just around the corner, but the distance to walk into town is recommendable. Lots of restaurants and travel-tips incl. maps are available in the cottage. We enjoy our stay very much and will come back soon!! Winnie and Rosi from Switzerland

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchgirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

a wonderful place to stay in amsterdam. nice and clean, peacefull and quiet. the hostess, Astrid, is trully a nice person. the location off the center of town is only an advantage - the neighbourhood is lovely with good cafes and food stores, you get to feel like a local and only a 10 minute tram ride from the center.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screennameJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My partner and I traveled to Amsterdam this past August and stayed at Flores & Puck B&B for a whole week. Our private cabin offered more than we had hoped for. During the day we explored Amsterdam the way the Amsterdammers do; on our own bicycles! (The cabin comes with two sturdy city bikes.) A 15 minute ride though the lovely Vondel Park takes you straight to the hustle and bustle of the city center. If you don't feel comfortable riding a bike in Amsterdam, public transportation in Holland is great, and the tram and bus to downtown are right around the corner.

There are shops and restaurants nearby as well, as Flores and Puck is situated in the lively and diverse "Old South" neighbourhood of Amsterdam. Astrid, our amazing host, was fluent in English and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. She answered all our questions and gave us plenty of tips and advice for an unforgettable vacation in her beautiful city. There were also plenty of guides and maps in the cabin, very helpful to find your way in an unfamiliar city.

The cabin has plenty of space for 2 adults, and has a small fridge, coffee maker and tea kettle. Our private bathroom was clean and we enjoyed our fluffy house coats. Before going out for supper we often relaxed on our private patio, more than once enjoying a great bottle of wine, purchased from the wine store on the nearby Hoofd dorp square. (ask Astrid for directions!) Wines are so cheap in the Netherlands, compared to what we pay here in Canada. :0)

Overall, this has been a great experience. We would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to be close to the center, but enjoys privacy, peace and quiet after a day of exploring and shopping. We have already decided to stay at Flores and Puck again, next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Dashwood Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 338 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Hostelle
#36 of 241 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,236 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,973 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flores & Puck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flores & Puck

Address: Rietwijkerstraat 51, 1059 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $94 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cottage in a big garden in Amsterdam South, close to center and Vondelpark.Two bikes are available to explore Amsterdam like the locals do! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing