We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Cottage in the City”
Review of Flores & Puck

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flores & Puck
Ranked #60 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Little Cottage in the City”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We loved staying at this charming little cottage, right by the Vondelpark and a beautiful bikeride into the centre of Amsterdam. Being just outside the most touristy parts of the city is an advantage - at the end of the day, we could just come back to our private little cottage and garden and relax. The bed is comfortable and the nights are quiet for sleeping. There is a supermarket right nearby, and the place has a fridge, cutlery, dishes, table, etc., so you can eat some meals at home - when you're not following Astrid's excellent restaurant recommendations. She is a warm and friendly host. We loved everything about the place. Highly recommended, and good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This was a great place to stay during our trip to Amsterdam. Astrid is an amazing host. The cottage had all the comforts of home and valuable information about the city was provided. We loved the location and the easy access to transit. The local shops were great and less touristy. Access to Vondel Park was convenient and we enjoyed many walks through the grounds. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to make it back soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharpFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This very quiet bed & breakfast in a wonderfull part of Amsterdam was just fantastic. Our hostess very friendly. The tram just around the corner, but the distance to walk into town is recommendable. Lots of restaurants and travel-tips incl. maps are available in the cottage. We enjoy our stay very much and will come back soon!! Winnie and Rosi from Switzerland

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchgirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

a wonderful place to stay in amsterdam. nice and clean, peacefull and quiet. the hostess, Astrid, is trully a nice person. the location off the center of town is only an advantage - the neighbourhood is lovely with good cafes and food stores, you get to feel like a local and only a 10 minute tram ride from the center.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screennameJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My partner and I traveled to Amsterdam this past August and stayed at Flores & Puck B&B for a whole week. Our private cabin offered more than we had hoped for. During the day we explored Amsterdam the way the Amsterdammers do; on our own bicycles! (The cabin comes with two sturdy city bikes.) A 15 minute ride though the lovely Vondel Park takes you straight to the hustle and bustle of the city center. If you don't feel comfortable riding a bike in Amsterdam, public transportation in Holland is great, and the tram and bus to downtown are right around the corner.

There are shops and restaurants nearby as well, as Flores and Puck is situated in the lively and diverse "Old South" neighbourhood of Amsterdam. Astrid, our amazing host, was fluent in English and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. She answered all our questions and gave us plenty of tips and advice for an unforgettable vacation in her beautiful city. There were also plenty of guides and maps in the cabin, very helpful to find your way in an unfamiliar city.

The cabin has plenty of space for 2 adults, and has a small fridge, coffee maker and tea kettle. Our private bathroom was clean and we enjoyed our fluffy house coats. Before going out for supper we often relaxed on our private patio, more than once enjoying a great bottle of wine, purchased from the wine store on the nearby Hoofd dorp square. (ask Astrid for directions!) Wines are so cheap in the Netherlands, compared to what we pay here in Canada. :0)

Overall, this has been a great experience. We would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to be close to the center, but enjoys privacy, peace and quiet after a day of exploring and shopping. We have already decided to stay at Flores and Puck again, next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Central Park
#172 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#92 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Vondelpark
Dutch Canal Boat Hotel
Dutch Canal Boat Hotel
#152 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#246 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flores & Puck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flores & Puck

Property: Flores & Puck
Address: Rietwijkerstraat 51, 1059 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cottage in a big garden in Amsterdam South, close to center and Vondelpark.Two bikes are available to explore Amsterdam like the locals do! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing