We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Morning coffee and dutch apple pie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Blauwe Pan

De Blauwe Pan
Ranked #2,425 of 3,431 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Are you going Tuesday with? That would be so nice ... A nice walk through our Jordan with a good guide. Of course including a fresh apple pie with whipped cream and a cup of tea or coffee on arrival. DELICIOUS! First you walk through the northern Jordan and when you are full of fun facts that told the guide takes you back along the Blue Pan. A delicious buffet lunch (delicious! Sandwiches, salads ...) Is here waiting for you, with different fruit juices and milk.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Morning coffee and dutch apple pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Found this place by accident, very welcoming and friendly. Really atmospheric decor.
Had 2 good coffees and a very excellent slice of dutch apple cake/pie. A perfect mid moring pick-me-up that helped us face a few more hours sigh seeing.
Do really try to stop by for a visit, one of our most authentic dutch stops across two days in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pethl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cool staff indeed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A nice and cosy place where you will feel at home immediately. Staff were very helpful and open to provide us with feedback on a research I was doing. Will come back soon to have a beer

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbywatson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“It's the people really but the food is very good too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stumbled on this charming little hostelry quite by accident, partly attracted by the tag line “Everything is possible”. We were warmly welcomed by Bianca, one of a number of friendly and obliging staff. We were looking for ‘ontbijt’ which is Dutch for breakfast but which has no precise definition so I asked for egg on toast with a bit of bacon. My Wife asked for an omelette, tomato and toast. Shortly we were each staring at a plate with three times our respective orders all beautifully presented on beds of salad. Not only was it all cooked to perfection, the coffee was great too. All that said the thing that we liked most about this bar/restaurant was a great feeling of ‘Gezelligheid’. It’s a Dutch word meaning comfortable/friendly welcoming/ cosy and stuff like that. Our visits (yes we did go back) to the Bauwe Pan became an important part of our holiday. Although they will cater for everyone including ‘boys nights out’ my wife and I felt very welcome to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat and Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a beer while walking around Jordan. The woman who runs it might be the nicest person ever. Her adorable son helps her run the place, giving it a sweet family atmosphere. Very clean, delicious beer, and beautiful upstairs area. Really enjoyed the abundance of outdoor seating on a beautiful afrernoon!

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good people, good grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The staff at De Blauwe Pan are super friendly, we felt extremely welcome there.

The food wasn't anything amazing but it's really good value (around 10€ a meal) and you won't leave hungry.

Will definitely visit these guys again on my next visit to Amsterdam. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Not_my_real_name28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Blauwe Pan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Blauwe Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing