We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfied”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #155 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2013

we stayed in an apartman 800 metres from Apostrophe. 4 bedroom, 1 livingroom, 1 bathroom. Jan (the owner) was very helpful and very kind. We had everything we need for our comfortable stay. Its ideal for a friends who would like to stay in a good place with a limited budget

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed one night at the B&B after the European League Final at ArenA. B&B is located at resendential area in apparently a row house. There are at least 2 other rooms, I had one with bathroom en-suite. No extraodinary comfort, just fine and certainly, clean. If you are allergic, probably, it is better to look for other accomodation, the house is full of carpets, books and very nice things brought from different corners of the world. The owner Jan is very nice person, speaks English and German, pity that I had not enough time to chat, definitely Jan have travelled a lot.
Car can be left at the front of the house. Direct bus connection brings you in about 10 minutes to the stadium. Last bus leaves from the stadium after midnight. That was very convenient!
And do not forget cash, the owner does not accept cards.

Room Tip: Not sure that all B&B rooms have bath en-suite. Check up front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Konstantin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Parking a car anywhere in Amsterdam is always going to be difficult so it was good to get this B & B with a free car park. Our room was comfortable enough, but a bit cluttered and we had to clamber over the bed or our luggage. There was plenty of reading - a huge bookshelf with books in a number of different languages. Our host Jan was friendly and helpful and breakfast was very nice, although, as another reviewer noted he would sit on his computer while we had breakfast, but my wife didn't let him get away with that, so she would engage him in conversation. When we did get him talking he was really interesting to chat to. We also had a problem with the shower screen in the ensuite room - which doesn't give much privacy and the thin walls - another guest was skyping after we had gone to bed and we had to ask her to keep her vioce down. She was very apologetic next morning. I guess we had the feeling that we were staying in someone's spare room rather than at a B&B, but overall it was comfortable and convenient. We stayed 5 nights there. It's a long way from central Amsterdam but the metro is convenient - about 10 minutes walk to the station and then 15 - 20 minutes to central station. From there you can get a tram to almost anywhere or (as we did often) just stroll along the canals. Amsterdam Zuidoost is a residential area which is fairly multicultural with quite a large african population. This was fine by us and we felt perfectly safe even walking from the metro at night. Jan told us that it bothers some of his guests which is disappointing but not surprising.

Room Tip: If you like your privacy when using the toilet or bathroom then you shouldn't choose the ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaver055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in Apostrophe during November 2011 and we found the hospitality great, Mr Jan is a fine host and will put his best effords to meet your needs, he even helped us with booking tickets and transport cards.
The breakfast was far from the typical Dutch and included a variety of things.
The place is very clean and has magnificent libraries where you can spend time reading an interesting book.
Bus stop at 150 meters. Metro station near by. Nice location away from the noise of downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elenagiannoulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank JasonUK_78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the place for two nights. We enjoyed the safe and calm environment, and relative proximity (10-12 mins walk) to public transport. The place was clean and tidy, and the breakfast was complete.

However, we had booked the ensuite room, which does indeed have a private bathroom/WC. Only, there's no proper door between this and the bedroom, but only a small frosted glass saloon style door. This didn't go from floor to ceiling, and there was also a 15 mm gap, which meant that whilst using the bathroom/toilet, your companion cannot avoid seeing/hearing you. As we did not feel particularly comfortable with this detail, we ended up using the shared bathroom in the corridor.

There was plenty of breakfast but we were a little disappointed that nothing traditionally Dutch was served. During breakfast, the owner was sitting next to the table, at his computer, listening but not participating to our conversation, which was fairly awkward. Otherwise, he was very nice and friendly and gave us a warm welcome.

The walls are also very thin, which means you know exactly what is going on in other guests' rooms.

Room Tip: Do not take the ensuite room if you are concerned about privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This B&B is located relatively close to a metro if you don't mind walking 10-15 mins which takes you to Amsterdam. It is clean, the host is nice, and breakfast is filling any typically European, with different breads, cereal, jams, meat and cheese, etc. This is B&B is especially convenient if you come by car since there is free parking. I would stay here again if I was visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Atalanta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#281 of 374 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#81 of 374 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#150 of 374 in Amsterdam
230 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#162 of 338 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#250 of 338 in Amsterdam
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

Address: Geerdinkhof 258, 1103 RA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $104 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing