We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant place to stay with free parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #209 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay with free parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Parking a car anywhere in Amsterdam is always going to be difficult so it was good to get this B & B with a free car park. Our room was comfortable enough, but a bit cluttered and we had to clamber over the bed or our luggage. There was plenty of reading - a huge bookshelf with books in a number of different languages. Our host Jan was friendly and helpful and breakfast was very nice, although, as another reviewer noted he would sit on his computer while we had breakfast, but my wife didn't let him get away with that, so she would engage him in conversation. When we did get him talking he was really interesting to chat to. We also had a problem with the shower screen in the ensuite room - which doesn't give much privacy and the thin walls - another guest was skyping after we had gone to bed and we had to ask her to keep her vioce down. She was very apologetic next morning. I guess we had the feeling that we were staying in someone's spare room rather than at a B&B, but overall it was comfortable and convenient. We stayed 5 nights there. It's a long way from central Amsterdam but the metro is convenient - about 10 minutes walk to the station and then 15 - 20 minutes to central station. From there you can get a tram to almost anywhere or (as we did often) just stroll along the canals. Amsterdam Zuidoost is a residential area which is fairly multicultural with quite a large african population. This was fine by us and we felt perfectly safe even walking from the metro at night. Jan told us that it bothers some of his guests which is disappointing but not surprising.

Room Tip: If you like your privacy when using the toilet or bathroom then you shouldn't choose the ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaver055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in Apostrophe during November 2011 and we found the hospitality great, Mr Jan is a fine host and will put his best effords to meet your needs, he even helped us with booking tickets and transport cards.
The breakfast was far from the typical Dutch and included a variety of things.
The place is very clean and has magnificent libraries where you can spend time reading an interesting book.
Bus stop at 150 meters. Metro station near by. Nice location away from the noise of downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenagiannoulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sthlm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the place for two nights. We enjoyed the safe and calm environment, and relative proximity (10-12 mins walk) to public transport. The place was clean and tidy, and the breakfast was complete.

However, we had booked the ensuite room, which does indeed have a private bathroom/WC. Only, there's no proper door between this and the bedroom, but only a small frosted glass saloon style door. This didn't go from floor to ceiling, and there was also a 15 mm gap, which meant that whilst using the bathroom/toilet, your companion cannot avoid seeing/hearing you. As we did not feel particularly comfortable with this detail, we ended up using the shared bathroom in the corridor.

There was plenty of breakfast but we were a little disappointed that nothing traditionally Dutch was served. During breakfast, the owner was sitting next to the table, at his computer, listening but not participating to our conversation, which was fairly awkward. Otherwise, he was very nice and friendly and gave us a warm welcome.

The walls are also very thin, which means you know exactly what is going on in other guests' rooms.

Room Tip: Do not take the ensuite room if you are concerned about privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

This B&B is located relatively close to a metro if you don't mind walking 10-15 mins which takes you to Amsterdam. It is clean, the host is nice, and breakfast is filling any typically European, with different breads, cereal, jams, meat and cheese, etc. This is B&B is especially convenient if you come by car since there is free parking. I would stay here again if I was visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Atalanta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

A beautiful clean and comfortable place, with the most intellectual, kind and generous host you may ever come across!
I than Mr. Jan for a beautiful vacation and encourage a stay in B&B Apostrophe…trust me on this. I feel very lucky to find this place. Don’t think twice, book right ahead!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spirit82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#124 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#69 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
La Corte Sconta
#135 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lieve Nachten B&B
#83 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#269 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#126 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

Property: Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
Address: Geerdinkhof 258, AM 1103 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing