We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ravioli!”
Review of Sardegna

Sardegna
Ranked #575 of 3,907 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Ravioli!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place was located between one of our tram stops and our hotel, the Hilton. Pass by it all the time but decided to stop mid afternoon and so glad we did. We had the Ravioli con spinaci e ricotta and Spaghetti con vongole, both excellent but the ravioli was to die for. Now, it was loaded in a sage butter so not the most healthy lunch but nonetheless, delicious. Staff were kind and efficient. We sat outside and shared a bottle of wine enjoying this wonderful meal and weather. Definitely will return!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoodieFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    108
    36
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a pity...”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went to the Sardegna restaurant on a May 2013 Tuesday night, with three other colleagues from work. We chose to stay inside. The place is very nice, furnished with good taste. Some nice pictures of Italian actresses and actors are on the walls and nice Italian waiters work there. After having placed our order, the waiter offered us some mini-bruschettas with tomato and oil. Nice, though very small. We ordered three antipasti (one to be taken as main course), two pizzas and a dish of the day (Pasta ai funghi porcini). The latter was out of the menu and just written on the wall. Considering its price (22 €, almost the double with respect to the other pasta or risotti), I would have preferred knowing the price in advance. The wine menu is relatively limited and the other available beverages are not on the menu. The two antipasti (a carpaccio and a viltello tonnato) were really very good. Tasty and fresh. They were served with good warm bread, too. Let us go to the bad part: the main courses! The pasta was flambé sauté in a form of parmesan with some cognac. The waiter added some black truffle, too. A real pity that all the alcohol of the liquor was not completely evaporated, making the pasta (already with not enough salt, a little bit overcooked and not very warm) bitter. Almost uneatable... The basis of the pizza (I did not try the topping from my colleagues) cannot be even considered belonging to a real pizza. Flat (without any cornicione, the tall border) and with a taste far from the real Italian one. The toppings on the "quattro stagioni" do not correspond to the ones we are used to in Italy. My other colleague told me that the tuna salad was good. The waiting times between the meals are reasonable but the serving plates are not heated (once again, unfortunately, a very spread habit). The bill was around 110 €. Unfortunately, the restaurant is in the average, considering the fact that it is an Italian one abroad...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pandit1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for business dinner”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good Italien food, nice location, but a little bit noisy. We made the reservations and everything was good but a little bit more expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danda274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food in nice neighborhood, good atmosphere”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Enjoyed good Italian food here in an upscale, but relaxed setting with local residents. I think we were probably the only tourists in the place, and the locals sitting at the tables around us were quite friendly.
Easy to get to walking or by tram if you are in the neighborhood of the Hilton Hotel, or the B & B we stayed at (Prince Henry Suites).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpanishRootsToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Night at Sardegna”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were a party of 9 in search of a warn place to have a drink and maybe desert in a cold Amsterdam night, after returning from a full day in Amsterdam and already having had dinner, mind you :)

This place was not far from our hotel and was nice enough to accept us "just for drinks and sweets" in the middle of their busy dinner service, tough only in the outside terrace. As they turned on the heating and alcohol kept flowing, this proved to be no problem!

Alcohol and sweets then developed to a few pizzas to share which were very good. We were actually sorry we weren't hungry and that we were going to leave Amsterdam the next day, as the food looked great and worth a proper visit.

The staff were extremely nice and served us perfectly. So this is not a full meal review, but I have a feeling we would not have been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardegna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sardegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing